Bill Holland... Born ... AAA driver from the 1930's 40's and 50's. He won the Indianapolis 500 in 1949.
Don Davis ... Born ... USAC driver from the late 1950's to the early 1960's. He drove in the USAC Championship Car series, racing in the 1960-1962 seasons with 15 starts, including the 1961 and 1962 Indianapolis 500 races. He finished in the top ten 8 times, with his two best finishes in 3rd at Trenton and in 4th at Indianapolis, both in 1962. He died in a sprint car crash in New Breman, OH.(8/7/62)
Andy Furci won the 25-lap Midget feature over Art Cross and Bill Baker at the Kingsbridge Armory, Bronx, NY
Stan Disbrow won the 25-lap Midget feature over Harold Bickelhaupt, Vernon Land, Johnny Zeke, Art Cross, Bill Schindler, Larry Bloomer, Harry Sheeler and Steve Yanigan at the Kingsbridge Armory, Bronx, NY

David Smith won the Sprint Car race at the East Bay Raceway Park, Tampa,FL. Jim Riddle finished second followed by Robert Smith, Bob Luscomb and Colin Mattson.
Jon Holmquist Jr. won the Micro Sprint Car race at the indoor track at the Farm Show Complex in Harrisburg, PA. Steve Stimely was second followed by Brian Buckwalter, Mark Whitsel and Mares Stellfox.
Bobby Allen won the special 15-lap Micro Sprint Car race for sprint car drivers at the indoor track at the Farm Show Complex in Harrisburg, PA. Dave Kelly was second followed by Jim Nace, Dan Dietrich, Don Kreitz Jr., Fred Rahmer, Frankie Kerr, Keith Kauffman, Joey Allen, Jerry Stone, Paul Lotier and Mike Herbert.
Henry Banks ... Died ... He was the son of an early European race-driver. Henry began competing in 1932, when he was 19-years-old, and became successful in the midget cars. He was the first driver to pass the qualifying "rookie test" at the Indianapolis 500 in 1936. He also drove as a relief driver in 1937, 1939, and 1940, with a 21st place finish in 1938. He won the 1941 American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) championship in New England. After a break during the war, when he worked at Ford's aero-engine division, Banks' career took off. In 1947 he won 30 midget car races. In 1950, he was the AAA National Champion and, in the same year, came second in the National Midget points. He later retired from racing and became USAC Director of Competitions.

Stan Fox ... Died ... The Wisconsin native was one of America's top midget pilots for more than 20 years. He won the 1979 Badger Midget Series title and went on to a successful USAC career that included 19 wins. Among his victories are the Belleville Nationals (twice), Turkey Night Grand Prix, 4-Crown Nationals and Copper World Classic (twice). Fox, who raced in eight Indianapolis 500s, was seriously injured during the 1995 Indy 500 and never raced competitively again. Fox is a member of the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame. Fox was killed in an automobile accident in New Zealand in 2000.
Brad Loyet won the Lucas Oil Bull Ring Midget Nationals at the Kemper Arena, Kansas City, MO. Bryan Clauson finished second followed by Greg Lueckert, Brad Kuhn, Danny Lasoski, Trevor Kobylarz, Jon Stanbrough, Jerry Coons Jr., Dave Darland and Don Droud Jr.
Casey Shuman won the "Battle at the Center" Speedway Motors POWRi National Midget Series race at the Southern Illinois Center, DuQuoin, IL. ( Click here for the race report. )


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.