Bobby Allison ... Born ... A former NASCAR Winston Cup driver and was named one of NASCAR's 50 greatest drivers. His two sons, Clifford Allison and Davey Allison followed him into racing, and both died within a year of each other. Bobby was a car owner for numerous drivers from 1990 to 1996, most notably Mike Alexander, Hut Stricklin , Jimmy Spencer, and Derrike Cope.
Rick Mears ... Born ... A retired American race car driver. He is the third of three men to have won the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race four times (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991), and the current record-holder for pole positions in the race with six (1979, 1982, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991). Mears is also a three-time CART national champion (1979, 1981 and 1982). In 1997, he was inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and was inducted in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 1998.

Bobby Marshman ... Died ... Born in Pottstown, Pennsylvania, Marshman died in San Antonio, Texas from injuries sustained in a tire test in Phoenix, Arizona. He drove in the USAC Midget, Sprint and Championship Car series, racing in the 1961-1964 seasons, with 49 career starts, including each Indianapolis 500 contest in that span. He finished in the top ten 25 times, with one victory, in 1962 at Phoenix. His 7th place finish at the 1961 Indianapolis 500 earned him co-Rookie of the Year honors with Parnelli Jones.
Jim Crowe won the Rebel 100 Late Model race over Gary Balough at the Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway, West Palm Beach,FL.
Bob DeJong won the 25-lap BCRA indoor Midget race at the Cow Palace, San Francisco, CA.
J.C. Mason won the Supermodified race over Jerry Mullins, Buddy Herbert, Dave Scarborough and Lennie Waldo at the South Alabama Speedway, Opp,AL.

Mel Kenyon won the USAC Midget race over Barry Reed, John Meyers, Mack McClellan and Russ Gamester at the Peoria Civic Center (1/10p), Peoria, IL.
Alex "Al" Tasnady... Died ... A modified stock driver for more than 23 years, he had more than 600 victories at tracks along the East Coast. During his career he won point championships at the Reading Fair Grounds, the Nazareth and Hatfield speedways in Pennsylvania; the Flemington, Vineland, Pitman, Atco and Pleasantville speedways in New Jersey, and the speedway in Dover, Del. The first modified driver to have an organized fan club, Tasnady received the Outstanding Achievement Award for modified stock car driving from the Greater New York Auto Racing Fraternity, honoring him as the No.1 driver in the country in 1963. Tasnady was the first driver to win four feature races in one day in 1967 at the Reading Fair Grounds. The next year he was inducted into the Eastern Old Timers Hall of Fame, and in 1974, was the first inductee into the Eastern Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame and was voted by them as one of the the 3 greatest Modified Stock Car dirt track racers ever. After retiring from driving he was race director at the Flemington Fair Speedway, 1973-83.
Jeff Gordon, in the Bickford # 6, won the CRA Sprint Car race over Rich Vogler, John Redican, Billy Vukovich III and Davey Hamilton at the Mesa Marin Raceway, Bakersfield,CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Rick Crawford won the 22nd annual All Pro-sanctioned Skoal Snowball Derby race at the Five Flags Speedway, Pensacola, FL. Rich Bickle was second followed by Bobby Dotter, Scott Hansen, Junior Niedecken, Darrell Brown, Joe Nemecheck, Keith Waid, Clay Brown and Bob Senneker. With his seventh place finish, Joe Nemecheck became the first rookie driver to ever win the All Pro national championship.

Sam Rodriguez won the TBARA Sprint Car race over Gene Lasker and Taylor Andrews at the East Bay Raceway Park, Tampa,FL.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.