Bill Baker won the Midget feature over Art Cross and Johnny Ringger at the Kingsbridge Armory, Bronx, NY
Johnny Mantz won the AAA Sprint Car race at the Carrell Speedway, Gardena, CA.
Bill Schindler won the AAA Eastern Sprint Car race at the Plant Field,Tampa, FL
Alan Clarke won the 100-lap Modified Stock Car race over Peewee Griffin and Herb Tillman at the Hialeah Speedway , Hialeah, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Jimmy Boyd won the 25-lap Bay Cities Racing Association Midget race at the indoor Cow Palace, San Francisco, CA.
Bobby Allison won the 100-lap Permatex 200 NASCAR Late Model Sportsman race at the Texas World Speedway, College Station, TX. Jack Ingram was second followed by James Hylton, Jimmy Finger and Rene Charland and Frank Warren combined for fifth.
Keith Kaufmann won the USAC Silver Crown Nazareth 100 (called after 54 miles) on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval Nazareth Speedway in Nazareth, Pennsylvania. Bill Engelhart was second followed by Rich Vogler, Ken Schrader and Mark Alderson.

Taylor Andrews won the TBARA Sprint Car race over Joe Melnick, Bruce Durden, Ronnie White and Gene Paul at the East Bay Raceway Park, Tampa,FL.
Iggy Katona... Died ... An American stock car racer from Willis, Michigan. He is most famous for his performance in the ARCA series in the 1950s, 60s and 70s, where he won six championships and a series record 79 races. Other ARCA records held by Katona include most starts (630), oldest race winner (57 years old, Daytona International Speedway, 1974) and most consecutive seasons with a win (19, from 1953-1971).

Len Sutton... Died ... Sutton became involved in auto racing after serving in the Navy during World War II. He spun out in the first corner on his first lap at a dirt track. Sutton won Oregon Racing Association championships in 1949, 1950, 1954, and 1955. He flipped his car to avoid cattle during the 1954 Carrera Panamericana road race (now Baja 1000). He was in a body cast for 4 months. He also won midget car racing championships in Portland before he headed east to become a national touring driver. He raced in the AAA and USAC Championship Car series from 1955 to 1965, with 76 career starts, 43 top ten finishes, and 3 victories. Sutton completed his rookie test for the Indianapolis 500 in 1956. He flipped his car while attempting 140 miles per hour for the 1957 Indianapolis 500. He slide upside down with his helmet scraping the asphalt for nearly 1000 feet. A report in the following day's Indianapolis News said "Sutton was at first believed dead by observers on the scene." His injuries included broken shoulder, serious abrasions on his back, and a fractured skull. He returned to Indianapolis the the following year and made his first start in the event. That year he finished 32nd after being eliminated in a multi-car accident during the first lap. He competed in the 500 six more times and had his best result in 1962. After starting the race 4th, he led 9 laps and finished second behind his teammate Rodger Ward. The next year, he set an unofficial Indianapolis Motor Speedway record when he went over 155 miles per hour during a tire test. Known for his versatility as a driver, Sutton also competed in roadsters, midgets, sprint cars, and stock cars. He finished 31st in the 1963 Daytona 500. Sutton decided to retire from driving during a 1965 race at Langhorne Speedway. Fellow competitor Mel Kenyon was severely burned in the race. After retiring from driving, Sutton went into broadcasting and was a member of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network for many years. Sutton died at his home in Portland at age 81 after a long battle with cancer.
Rick Weld... Died ... He was the youngest of the four "Weld" brothers, passed away after losing his battle with cancer. Rick started his sprint car driving career in 1971 in his father's car, winning 29 feature events in his first two years.
Mike Lichty won the 30-lap indoor TQ Midget feature over Lou Cicconi Jr, Matt Janisch, Ted Christopher and Paul Lotier at the Dunkin Donuts Center, Providence, R.I.
Chase Elliott won the Allen Turner Snowflake 100 Pro Late Model race at the Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, FL. Bubba Pollard finished second followed by Mike Garvey, John Bolen and Daniel Hemric.
Devin Dixon won the David Reutimann Foundation 50 for open wheel modifies over Jeff Mathews, David Reutimann, Roger Crouse, Terry Bronson, Buzzie Reutimann, Garret Stewart, Kevin Bryant, Dale Kelley and Jason Intoppa at the East Bay Raceway, Gibsonton, FL.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.