John DePalma... Born ... AAA driver, he was the brother of 1915 Indy winner Ralph DePalma and the uncle of 1925 Indy winner Pete DePaolo.
Fred Wagner , the starter of the race, waved what is believed to be the first checkered flag used to signify the finish of an auto race as Louis Wagner was about to win the 1906 Vanderbilt Cup Race.
Walt Faulkner... Born ... AAA driver from 1949 to 1955. He also competed in NASCAR races. In 1950 Faulkner became the first rookie to win pole position at the Indianapolis 500. He died after a racing crash at a USAC Stock Car event in West Coast Speedway California on April 22 1956

Fireball Roberts and Joe Weatherly won the twin 100 mile NASCAR Grand National qualifying races at Daytona International Speedway. In race 1, Dan Gurney finished 4th in his first GN start. Darel Dieringer, who won the pole in a special 10 lap pole position race held on February 11th, was involved in a 6 car crash in the early going of the second qualifier. Following the race, Dieringer was replaced in the primary Ray Fox Pontiac by David Pearson, leaving Dieringer on the sidelines for the '500'.
Mel Kenyon won the Midget race at the Memorial Stadium, Daytona Beach, FL.
George Benson won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the San Jose Speedway, San Jose, CA.

Bobby Allen powered his Emrich Chevrolet to win the 30-lap Super Sprint car race at the Jacksonville Speedway, Jacksonville, Florida. Dick Gaines was second followed by Bob Kinser, James McElreath, Sam Swindell, Rob Smith, Barry Camp, Bobby Johns and Eddie Hanks.
Jack Calabrese won the midget race at the Memorial Stadium in Daytona Beach Florida. Don Vogler was second followed by Dave Fall, Gene Force, Carl Berkquist, Carl Miller Jr, Hank Rogers, Jim Hettinger and Dennis Cullick.
Will Cagle won the 50-lap Southeastern Winternationals Late Model Stock Car race at the Volusia County Speedway, Barberville, FL.
Todd Gibson won the Supermodified race at the West Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway, West Palm Beach, FL.
Bob Cooney ... Died ... AAA driver 1946-1949
Benny Parsons slipped by a spinning David Pearson with 2 laps to go and went on to win the Daytona 500. Parsons had closed on Pearson with drafting help from Richard Petty, who was 8 laps down. While attempting to pass the lapped cars of Richie Panch and Cale Yarborough on the backstretch, Pearson and Yarborough tapped fenders, sending Pearson spinning across the grass. Parsons' DeWitt Chevy went on to finish over a lap ahead of Bobby Allison in the Roger Penske AMC Matador. Wrecks and mechanical troubles put many contenders well off the pace. Parsons started 32nd in the field.
Sleepy Tripp won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the Oklahoma City Sports Arena, Oklahoma City, OK.

A.J. Foyt and Darrell Waltrip won the twin 125 mile NASCAR GN qualifying races at Daytona International Speedway.
Richie Evans won the eighth night Modified feature of the World Series Of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at the New Smyrna Speedway, New Smyrna Beach, FL. Charlie Jarzombek was second followed by George Kent, Dave Nichols and Satch Worley.
Jack Ingram won the Daytona Sportsman 300 race at the Daytona International Speedway, Daytona, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Geoff Bodine won the Daytona 500, picking up his first career superspeedway win. Bodine and Dale Earnhardt were dueling for the win when Earnhardt ran out of fuel with three laps to go. Earnhardt blew his motor while peeling out of the pits after the splash and go stop. Terry Labonte was second, 11.25 seconds behind the winner.
Junior Hanley won the Late Model Stock Car race and Reggie Ruggiero won the Modified Stock Car race at the New Smyrna Speedway, New Smyrna Beach, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Jack Boggs won the Late Model Stock Car race at the Volusia County Speedway, Barberville, FL.
Mike Hawley won the IMCA Modified Stock Car race at the Volusia County Speedway, Barberville, FL.
Dave Blaney won the All Star Sprint Car Winternationals race at the East Bay Raceway, Gibsonton, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Ken Schrader and Terry Labonte won the Twin 125-mile qualifying races for the Daytona 500 at the Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL.

Hendrick Motorsport Chevys finish 1-2-3 in the Daytona 500. Jeff Gordon won, followed by teammates, Terry Labonte and Ricky Craven.
Russ Klar ... Died ... He was a race driver in the Northeast. He drove midgets , sprint cars and 'big cars' in the 1940s and '50s and late in his career modifieds (stock cars).
Jerry Karl ... Died ... Jerry was a 6 time Indianapolis 500 Starter. He started racing at Freeport Stadium on Long Island in 1957. Jerry competed in ARDC, ATQMRA, URC,and USAC in the Midget,Sprint,Silver Crown,Formula 5000, and Indianpolis Cars. Jerry raced in the Indy 500 in 1973,1974,1975,1978,1980 and 1981.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.