Howard Wilcox ... Born ... AAA driver 1932 & 1933
Tony Willman ... Born ... AAA driver 1926 to 1941, died in a midget race at Thompson, CT on October 12, 1941.
Bobby Unser ... Born ... One of the greatest Indycar racing stars of all time, Unser was twice the USAC/Indy Car champion (1968 and 1974) and three times winner of the Indianapolis 500. The brother of Al Unser and Jerry Unser, the father of Robby Unser, and the uncle of Al Unser, Jr. and Johnny Unser. He was the undisputed king of the Pikes Peak hillclimb, winning the championship 13 times. An accomplished Sprint Car driver he also ran in 19 Indy 500's.

Roger S. Penske ... Born ... A national sports car driving champion (1964); established the Penske racing team in 1961; co-founder of Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART). Penske Racing has won 12 Indianapolis 500s and 9 CART points titles.
Johnny Mantz won the 30 lap Pacific Coast AAA Sprint Car race at the Carrell Speedway, Gardena, CA.
Johnnie Parsons won the AAA Midget race at the Gardena Stadium, Gardena, CA .
Scott Brayton ... Born ... USAC/CART driver 1981 to 1996. Scott tragically lost his life in a fatal crash during practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Six days before the accident, Scott captured his second consecutive Indy 500 pole position.
Daytona Beach ... The first races on the 2.5 mile Daytona International Speedway took place, twin 100 mile qualifiers for the first 'Daytona 500'. One for Convertibles and one for Hardtops. The Convertible race started 21 cars with Glen Wood, Richard Petty, Marvin Panch and Shorty Rollins pulling clear of the field. The foursome swapped the lead 5 times in the last 9 laps before Rollins edged Panch by a bumper for the win. In the Hardtop 100, Bob Welborn moved his Chevy from 7th starting to the lead by lap 2, but couldn't shake Denver's Fritz Wilson. Welborn beat Wilson's T-Bird by a half car length to take the win. Peruvian driver Eduardo Dibos finished 5th.
Dick Peterman won the TQ Midget race at the Teaneck Armory, Teaneck, NJ. ( Click here for the race report. )

Rod Perry won both of the twenty lap Sportsman Super Modified features at the Hollywood Speedway, Hollywood, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
George Snider won the USAC Midget race at the Kearney Bowl, Fresno, CA .
David Pearson and Bobby Isaac won the twin 125 mile NASCAR Grand National qualifying races at Daytona International Speedway. Pearson earlier had become the first driver to break the 190 mph barrier at Daytona.
Danny O'Neill won the Bay Cities Racing Association indoor Midget race at the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, Santa Rosa. CA.
A.J. Foyt drove the Wood Brothers Mercury to an easy win in the Daytona 500. In a field already weakened by the factories pull-out, other contenders suffered problems. When leader Richard Petty retired with engine trouble on lap 81, Foyt took over and led to the checkered. Foyt finished nearly 2 laps in front of Charlie Glotzbach, driving the Cotton Owens Dodge.
Gary Bettenhausen , driving the Doug Caruthers # 8, won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the San Jose Speedway, San Jose, CA .

Cale Yarborough was unbeatable, winning the 125-mile qualifying race, the International Race of Champions event and the 500. The only thing he didn't win was the pole position, which went to Donnie Allison.
Hank Butcher won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the San Jose Speedway, San Jose, CA .
Cale Yarborough rebounded to win the Daytona 500 after earlier crashing the Rainier Racing Monte Carlo on his second qualifying lap. Yarborough took the lead from Buddy Baker on the last lap and pulled to a five length win as Bill Elliott edged Baker and Joe Ruttman across the line in a three wide battle for second. Ruttman led the most laps in the Benfield Chevy.

Mark Kinser won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car race over his cousin Steve at the Ascot Park, Gardena, CA. Following Steve Kinser was Jack Hewitt for third, Sammy Swindell for fourth anf Doug Wolfgang for fifth.
Buster Warke... Died ... AAA driver from the 1930's , 40's to the mid 1950's.
Kyle Busch won the Starter Brothers 300 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at the Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, CA. ( Click here for the race results. )

Ty Gibbs won the NASCAR Xfinity Series Super Start Batteries 188 at Daytona Presented by O’Reilly, on the infield road course at the Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL. With his win Gibbs becomes only the sixth driver to win in his first series start – matching a feat achieved by NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt in 1982 and most recently, Kurt Busch, 15 years ago. Gibbs becomes the youngest driver to win a NASCAR Xfinity Series road course event. Austin Cindric was second followed by Daniel Hemric, Brandon Jones, Jeb Burton and Harrison Burton.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.