Frank Sweigert ... Born ... East coast AAA driver
Ted Horn... Born ... AAA driver from the 1930's and 40's. Ted Horn has the best 9-year streak of finishes in Indianapolis 500 history. Over his Indianapolis 500 career, Ted Horn completed 1944 out of a possible 2000 laps (97%).
Ralph DePalma won the featured 50 mile AAA Championship race on the 1.25 mile Los Angeles Motor Speedway board track. DePalma averaged 107.39 mph at the wheel of a Ballot. DePalma, Roscoe Sarles, Jimmy Murphy and Tommy Milton won earlier 25 mile races.

Ebb Rose... Born ... USAC racer from the 1960's
Jack Conely... Born ... USAC racer from the 1960's
Peter Revson... Born ... Formula One and the Indy car driver. The nephew of Revlon Cosmetics industry magnate Charles Revson, he was an heir to his father Martin's fortune (reportedly worth over $1 billion). During a practice run for the 1974 South African Grand Prix in Johannesburg, he was killed as a result of suspension failure on his Shadow Ford DN3.

Steve Chassey... Born ... USAC/Cart sprint and Indy car driver.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida .... A NASCAR sanctioned racing program at the 2 mile paved Broward Speedway featured Roadsters, Sports Cars and the first NASCAR race for a class of passenger cars known as Strictly Stocks, a class that would evolve into the Grand National division. Ft. Lauderdale's Benny Georgeson won the 5 lap Strictly Stock race in a Buick. The featured 100 mile Roadster race was won by Atlanta's Bob Flock with future Indy Car star Jim Rathmann 2nd. Tom Demetry won the 25 mile Sports Car race.
Bobby Ball... Died ... AAA driver from the early 1950's. On January 4, 1953, he was involved in midget car accident at Carrell Speedway, Gardena Calif., which left him with terrible head injuries. He remained in a coma and died 14 months later.

Tim Flock , after Fireball Roberts was disqualified, was declared winner of the 160 mile NASCAR GN race on the beach & road course. Roberts led every lap in the Fish Carburetor Buick, but a post race inspection found slightly altered pushrods, elevating Flock to first. Flock had been disqualified from the 1954 race win, leaving the circuit as a result. Flock returned to drive Carl Kiekhaefer's Chrysler in it's first race.
Johnny Seymour... Died ... AAA driver from the 1920's and 30's
Bobby Marshman won the 35-lap TQ Midget race at the Teaneck Armory, Teaneck, NJ. ( Click here for the race report. )
Jack Arnold won the Modified Stock Car race and Dave Scarborough won the Sportsman Stock Car race at the Sunshine Speedway, St. Petersburg, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Jackie Evans won the Modified race at the Hialeah Speedway, Miami, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Ned Jarrett won the 100 mile NASCAR GN race on the 1/2 mile dirt Piedmont Interstate Fairgrounds in Spartanburg, South Carolina by 22 laps. Dick Hutcherson dueled Jarrett much of the race, and was leading when his differential broke with 40 laps left, giving Jarrett the huge margin.
Rod Perry won the Sportsman-Supermodified race at the Hollywood Speedway in Hollywood, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Richard Petty overcame a day filled with tire problems to win the Daytona 500. Chunks from disintegrating tires shattered the windshields of top contenders Curtis Turner, Dick Hutcherson and Marvin Panch, knocking them out. Petty's Plymouth was in front when a heavy rain forced the race to be flagged two laps early. Petty became the first repeat winner of the 500.

Paul Jones won the CRA Sprint Car race at the Imperial County Fairgrounds in El Centro, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Nick Rescino won the Bay Cities Racing Association indoor midget race at the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, Santa Rosa, CA. Hank Butcher was second followed by Jack Walker, Chuck Gurney and Bob Johnson.
George Follmer won the 250 mile NASCAR Late Model Sportsman race at the Ontario Motor Speedway, Ontario, CA.
Bobby Brack won the Late Model stock car race at the Hialeah Speedway, Hialeah, FL. Bill Flingoes was second followed by Buddy Griffen, Larry Rogero and Randy Tissot.
Richard Petty took the lead when Bobby Allison ran into a recurring tire problem, going on to win the 500 lap Richmond 500 NASCAR GN race on the .542 mile paved Richmond Fairgrounds Raceway. Petty's Plymouth finished more than a lap ahead of Allison's Monte Carlo.
Cale Yarborough wins the Richmond 400 over Darrell Waltrip at the Richmond International Raceway , Richmond, VA.
Bobby Allison wins the Richmond 400 over Dale Earnhardt at the Richmond International Raceway , Richmond, VA.
Steve Kinser won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at the San Jose Speedway, San Jose, CA. Bobby Davis Jr was second followed by Brad Doty, Mark Kinser, Sammy Swindell and Tim Green.
Rusty Wallace wins the Goodwrench 500 over Sterling Marlin at the North Carolina Speedway , Rockingham, NC.
Bobby Labonte wins the Dura-Lube/Kmart 400 over Dale Earnhardt at the North Carolina Speedway , Rockingham, NC.
Greg Biffle wins the Auto Club 500 over Jimmie Johnson at the California Speedway , Fontana, CA.
Matt Snider won the NASCAR Xfinity Series Contender Boats 250 at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, Fla. Brandon Jones finished second followed by Daniel Hemric, Jeb Burton and Austin Cindric.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.