Eddie Hearne... Born ... AAA driver from 1909 to 1927.
Harlan Fengler ... Born ... AAA driver from 1923 to 1927. Fengler acted as Chief Steward of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway from 1958 until 1974.

Leroy Warriner ... Born ... an American racing driver from Indianapolis who attempted to qualify for the Indianapolis 500 every year from 1951 to 1958 without succeeding. Warriner only managed to qualify for a single Championship Car race, the September 1953 race at the Indiana State Fairgrounds where he started and finished 18th. He retired from racing in 1962 then owned the Indianapolis Speeddrome with Gene Hartley until 1977. An accomplished midget car racer, he was inducted into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame.
Tommy Milton the 1921 & 1923 Indy 500 winner won the 250 mile AAA championship race on the 1.25 mile high banked Culver City (Calif) Speedway board track. Milton averaged 126.88 mph in his Miller.
Dave Marcis... Born ... NASCAR Cup driver from 1968 to 2002
Joe Sostilio won the AAA Midget race at the Miami Speedway, Miami, FL.
Curtis Turner wins his 15th Strictly Stock/Grand National race in his 121st start, taking the checkered flag on the nine-tenth mile dirt track of Orange Speedway in Hillsboro, N.C., by three car lengths over Tom Pistone. Turner leads 66 of the 110 laps. Turner's career will end in 1968 with 17 wins in 183 races.

Jackie Stewart won the Formula One South African GP in his Matra.
James Hylton scored his first career NASCAR GN win by taking the 'Richmond 500' in Richmond, Virginia. Hylton's first win came after 12 runner-up finishes and in his first start with Ford after switching from Dodge. Richard Petty had 2 laps on the field by lap 242 only to lose 9 laps on two pit stops for battery and distributor trouble. Petty stormed back to 15.1 seconds behind Hylton at the finish.
Jody Scheckter drove his Tyrell to victory in his home country South African GP on the Kyalami circuit. Lella Lombardi became the first woman to start a championship F1 race since 1958.
Bob Watkins wins the TQ Midget feature at the indoor Atlantic City Convention Hall.

Al Unser Jr. wins the CRA sprint car main event at Imperial, California
Dale Earnhardt won the Goodwrench 500 over Ricky Rudd at the North Carolina Motor Speedway , Rockingham, NC. ( Click here for the race report. )
Bubby Jones won the CRA Sprint Car race at the Imperial Fairgrounds, Imperial, CA. Mike Sweeney was second followed by Dan Lewis, Rip Williams and Jim Lauri.
Bill Elliott wins the Goodwrench 500 over Davey Allison at the North Carolina Speedway , Rockingham, NC.
Jackie Holmes ... Died ... AAA racer from 1947 to 1953

Michael Andretti drives a Swift-Ford to victory in the CART Marlboro Grand Prix of Miami at Homestead, Florida, USA. First CART win for Swift in their first CART race.
Mark Martin wins the Las Vegas 400 over Jeff Burton at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway , Las Vegas, NV.
Jason Meyers won the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at the Manzanita Speedway , Phoenix, AZ. ( Click here for the race report. )
Niki Young won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Lincoln Speedway , Abbottstown, PA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Mark Martin won the NASCAR Nationwide Series race at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway , Las Vegas, NV. ( Click here for the race report. )
Buzzie Reutimann won the Modified Stock Car race at the East Bay Raceway , Gibsonton, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Brett Hearn won the Big Block Modified Stock Car race at the Hagerstown Speedway , Hagerstown, MD. Ryan Godown finished second followed by Rick Laubach, Joey Grammes, Jeremiah Shingledecker and Billy Pauch. Rick Eckert won the Late Model race over Roy Deese Jr., Josh Richards, Dan Stone and Jim Yoder.
Jeff Van Dusen won the Sprint Car race at the Charlotte County Motorsports Park , Punta Gorda, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.