MARCH 13th



Lyn St. James... Born ... (born Sandra Lynn Eden) A retired professional IndyCar driver with 11 CART and 5 Indy Racing League starts to her name. She is just one of five women who successfully qualified for the Indianapolis 500, and became the first woman to win the Indy 500 Rookie Of The Year award. The inspiration for the name "St. James" came from actress Susan Saint James.
Rex Mays won the 30 lap Pacific Coast AAA Sprint Car race at the Carrell Speedway, Gardena, CA.
Wally Parks, Ak Miller and Marvin Lee create the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) in a booth in the Tam-O-Shanter restaurant in Los Angeles, California.
Rod Perry won the Modified race at the Palm Beach Speedway, West Palm Beach, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Ed Van Eyk won the CJA Hot Rod race at the Gardena Stadium, Gardena, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Harry Crawford won the Southern Racing Association Midget race at the Kearney Bowl, Ftesno, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )

Paul Godsmith drives a Plymouth Belvedere to victory in the 500 mile NASCAR race at Rockingham, North Carolina.
Larry Dickson won the 40 lap USAC Sprint Car race at the Miami-Hollywood Speedway, Hollywood, FL.
Richard Petty drove his Dodge to a win in a wreck strewn NASCAR GN Carolina 500 in Rockingham, North Carolina. An asphalt sealer recently applied to the surface of the 1.017 mile North Carolina Motor Speedway led to many of the wrecks, none of which resulted in injury. Overall the yellow flew 11 times for 118 laps. Darrell Waltrip's DiGard Chevy finished 8 seconds behind Petty.

Richard Petty wins the Hodg. Car. 500 over Bill Elliott at the North Carolina Speedway , Rockingham, NC.
Marco Andretti... Born ... He is the son of 1991 IndyCar World Series champion Michael Andretti and the grandson of racing legend Mario Andretti. Andretti finished second in the 2006 Indianapolis 500 in the second closest finish in the race's history.
Gene Hartley... Died ... AAA / USAC driver from the 1950's and 60's. Gene was the 1959 USAC National Midget Series champion. Hartley was inducted in the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 1985. He ran the Indy 500 ten times with a best finish of 10th in 1957.

Ernie Irvan wins the Purolator 500 over Morgan Shepherd at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.
Bayliss Levrett... Died ... AAA driver from 1949 to 1952
Jimmie Johnson won the UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400 NASCAR race over Kyle Busch at Las Vegas International Speedway.
Austin Cindric won the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Phoenix Raceway, Avondale, AZ. Ty Gibbs finished second followed by Brandon Brown, Riley Herbst and A.J. Allmendinger.
Danny Dietrich won the 410 Sprint Car Feature at the Lincoln Speedway , Abbottstown, PA, Chad Trout was second followed by Matt Campbell,Jimmy Siegel and Tim Shaffer. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Lance Dewease won the 410 Sprint Car Feature at the Port Royal Speedway , Port Royal, PA, Kerry Madsen was second followed by Dylan Cisney, Jeff Halligan and Logan Wagner. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

David Gravel won the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series race, making their debut appearance at The Rev in Monroe, LA, David Gravel and Brad Sweet were the stars of the show in an exhilarating duel. Ultimately, three-tenths of a second is all that separated the Big Game Motorsports #2 and the Kasey Kahne Racing #49 at the checkered flag. Donny Schatz was third followed by Logan Schuchart, Sheldon Haudenschild and Kasey Kahne. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Matt Sheppard won the 49-lap Melvin L. Joseph Memorial Short Track Super Series Modified race at the Georgetown Speedway, Georgetown, DE. Stewart Friesen finished second followed by Mike Mahaney, Tyler Dippel and Anthony Perrego. Click to watch the feature highlights video.



To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.