MARCH 16th



Art Klein... Born ... AAA driver 1914 to 1923.
Louis Unser... Born ... Race Car Driver. "Uncle Louie" Unser was a nine time winner of the Pikes Peak Hillclimb (1934,36,37,38,39,41, 46,47,53). He, along with his brothers Joseph and Jerome (Jerry, Sr) had dreams of racing in the Indianapolis 500 with cars sponsored by the Coleman Front Drive Company. Those dreams were shattered in 1929 when Joe was killed in a practice accident and Coleman withdrew it's sponsorship. After Joe's death Jerry continued to race until 1936 when he retired to go into the automotive business and to raise a family. "Uncle Louie" continued to race at Pikes Peak until 1967 when, after 37 starts he retired at the age of 71. Louis was the uncle of the late Jerry Unser, Jr who died May 17, 1959 of injuries received May 2 in a practice accident while preparing for his second Indianapolis 500, Louis J. Unser, race car driver and master engine builder, four time Indianapolis 500 winner Al Unser, Sr (1970,71,78,87) and three time Indianapolis 500 winner, Bobby Unser (1968,75,81). Great uncle of two time Indianapolis 500 winner, Al Unser, Jr (1992,94), five time Indianapolis 500 starter Johnny Unser, two time Indianapolis 500 starter Robby Unser and the now retired Bobby Unser, Jr who competed in Sprint Cars, Formula Vees and the Pikes Peak Hillclimb.
Chet Gardner... Born ... Chet started racing in 1922 in Colorado. In 1933 he won the Midwest AAA Sprint Car Championship. He was named "Southern Dirt Racing King" twice. Between 1928 and 1938, Chet made 25 starts in the AAA series, where his best result was 3rd. From 1930 to 1938 he competed in the Indianapolis 500 with a best finish of 4th in 1933.

Barney Oldfield drove a Benz to a One-Mile Speed record 131.724 mph.
Jim Reynard... Born ... USAC racer from the 1960's
Billy Stavola... Born ... Along with his brother Mickey co-owned Stavola Brothers Racing. The Stavola Brothers formed their NASCAR Winston Cup team in 1983 with veteran crew chief Harry Hyde and rookie driver Bobby Hillin, who was a high school senior at the time. Before closing the team at the end of the 1998 Winston Cup season when the team lost Circuit City as its primary sponsor, the brothers fielded cars for eight drivers, including Bobby Allison, Sterling Marlin, Jeff Burton and Dick Trickle. The brothers' primary business was Trap Rock Industries, a rock quarry in New Jersey that has an asphalt company as a subsidiary.
Dick Ferguson... Born ... Former driver in the CART Championship Car series. He raced in the 1979-1985 and 1987-1988 seasons, with 26 career starts, including the 1980 Indianapolis 500. He finished in the top ten 5 times, with a best finish of 6th position in 1981 at Michigan.
Will Cagle won both the Modified race and the Late Model race at the Sunshine Speedway, St. Petersburg, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Tony Bonadies won the 100-lap Eastern States Championship TQ Midget race at the Teaneck Armory, Teaneck, NJ. ( Click here for the race report. )

Andy Granatelli's turbine-powered Indycar is unveiled to the press.
Johnny Rutherford won the USAC Championship 'Bricklin 150' at FasTrack International Raceway ( this was PIR under another name). Rutherford's Offy powered McLaren led the last 61 laps on the 1 mile paved oval, crossing the line 5.3 seconds ahead of Gordon Johncock despite a yellow that bunched up the field with 5 laps left. 19 cars started on a track surface that deteriorated badly, cutting many tires.
Richard Petty wins the Volunteer 500 over Benny Parsons at the Bristol Motor Speedway , Bristol, TN.
Dale Earnhardt won the NASCAR Winston Cup race at Atlanta, Georgia. Rusty Wallace, in his first Winston Cup start, finished second. ( Click here for the race report. )
Geoff Bodine won the 250 lap NASCAR Championship Modified race at Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Billy Pauch won the Modified race at the East Windsor Speedway, Hightstown, NJ. ( Click here for the race report. )

Kirk Bryant won the ARCA Georgia 150 race at the Atlanta International Raceway, Hampton, GA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Keith Kauffman won the Super Sprint car race over Doug Wolfgang, Barry Camp, Maynard Yingst, Donnnie Kreitz and Paul Lotier at the Port Royal Speedway, Port Royal, PA.
Steve Smith won the Super Sprint car race over Steve Siegel, Van May, Steve Stambaugh, Smokey Snellbaker and Dan Dietrich at the Port Royal Speedway, Port Royal, PA.
Van May won the Super Sprint car race over Allen Klinger, Doug Wolfgang, Frankie Kerr, Paul Lotier and Scott Haus at the Selinsgrove Speedway, Selinsgrove, PA.
Morgan Shepherd wins the Motorcraft 500 over Dale Earnhardt at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.
Ricky Craven wins the Carolina Dodge Dealers 400 over Kurt Busch at the Darlington Raceway , Darlington, SC.

Jeff Burton won the NASCAR Sprint Cup race over Kevin Harvick at the Bristol Motor Speedway , Bristol, TN. ( Click here for the race report. )


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.