MARCH 19th



Al Cotey... Born ... AAA driver from the early 1900's
Wade Morton... Born ... AAA driver from the 1920's
Vern Schuppan... Born ... USAC / CART driver from the 1970's and 80's
Bill Cantrell won the AAA Midget race at the South Mountain Speedway, Phoenix, AZ.
Charlie Schild won the Modified race at the Playland Park Speedway, Houston, TX. ( Click here for the race report. )
Lee Dieas won the Modified race and Rick Arthur won the Sportsman race at the Sunshine Speedway, St. Petersburg, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )

A.J. Foyt won the 50 lap USAC Midget race at the Orange Show Stadium, San Bernardino, CA.
Gordon Johncock set an Indianapolis Motor Speedway track record of 200.4 MPH. This was the first 200 mph lap at Indy.
Bobby Allison ran away with the NASCAR Grand National 'Atlanta 500'. Allison led the last 197 laps in the Bud Moore Ford, taking the checkered a lap ahead of second place Dave Marcis. The win broke a drought for Allison, who went winless in the 1976 & 1977 seasons.
Lee Shephard made the first 160 mph NHRA Pro Stock pass when he ran 160.71 mph at a meet in La Place, Louisiana.

Bobby Allen won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at Big H Motor Speedway, Houston, TX. Sammy Swindell finished second followed by Bobby Marshall, Steve Kinser and Bobby Davis Jr.
Darrell Waltrip won the Motorcraft 500 over Dale Earnhardt at the Atlanta International Raceway , Hampton, GA. ( Click here for the race results. )
Kenny Jacobs won the Sprint Car race at Williams Grove Speedway, Mechanicsburg, PA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Mike Balzano won the Late Model race at Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown, MD.
Bobby Davis Jr won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at the State Fair Speedway, Oklahoma City, OK. Doug Wolfgang was second followed by Jeff Swindell, Andy Hillenburg, Jac Haudenschild, Danny Lasoski and Cris Eash.

Ward Burton wins the 400 over Dale Jarrett at the Darlington Raceway , Darlington, SC.
Pat Cannon won the 358 Sprint Car race at the Port Royal Speedway , Port Royal, PA. Nate Hammaker finished second followed by Logan Schuchart, Steve Buckwalter and Matt Horst.
Joey Saldana won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at the Thunderbowl Speedway , Tulare, CA. Jason Meyers finished second followed by Donny Schatz, Jac Haudenschild, Sammy Swindell, Steve Kinser, Jason Sides, Paul McMahan, Jonathan Allard and Tim Kaeding.
Danny Dietrich won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Lincoln Speedway , Abbottstown, PA. Fred Rahmer finished second followed by Alan Krimes, Justin Collett, Brian Leppo, Brian Montieth, Brad McClelland, Adam Lawrence, Doug Esh and Jim Siegel.
Darrell Lanigan won the World of Outlaws Late Model Series race at the Columbus Speedway , Columbus, MS.
Danny Johnson won the Race of Champions Icebreaker Modified race at the Selingsgrove Speedway , Selingsgrove, PA. Billy Decker was second followed by Brett Hearn, Dan Vanter, Jimmy Horton, Jr., Rick Laubach, Wade Hendrickson, Matt Sheppard, Bobby Varin and Billy Pauch.
Blane Heimbach won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Port Royal Speedway , Port Royal, PA. Stevie Smith finished second followed by Mark Smith, Tyler Walker and Lance Dewease.
Kyle Busch won the NASCAR Nationwide race over Kasey Kahne, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Elliott Sadler and Joey Logano at the Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol TN.
Sheldon Haudenschild won the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series race at the Cotton Bowl Speedway, Paige, TX . Aaron Reutzel was second followed by Brad Sweet, Ian Madsen and Donny Schatz. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Michael "Buddy" Kofoid won the 30-lap Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget feature at the Monarch Motor Speedway, Wichita Falls, TX . Diason Pursley finished second followed by Cannon McIntosh, Jake Neuman and Brent Crews.
JJ Hickle won the 25-lap ASCS Sprint Car feature at the Devil's Bowl Speedway, Mesquite, Texas. Seth Bergman finished second followed by Blake Hahn, Scott Bogucki and Matt Covington.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.