MARCH 20th



Barney Oldfield won the 103 mile Tucson Road Race in Tucson, Arizona. Oldfield averaged 67.2 mph in a Maxwell.
Bud Clemons... Born ... USAC driver from the 1950's
Bert Brooks... Born ... Eastern midget and sprint car driver from the 1940's, 50's and 60's. He was the United Racing Club (URC) Sprint car champion in 1954, 1956, 1957 and 1958.

Chuck Engle... Born ... Midwest sprint car driver from the 1960's.
Bill Engelhart... Born ... Former driver in USAC and the CART Championship Car series. He raced in the 1980-1981 seasons, with 9 career starts, including an 11th in the 1980 Indianapolis 500. He finished in the top ten 4 times, with his best finish in 8th position in 1981 at Milwaukee. Bill was the USAC midget division Rookie of Year in 1969 with a 7th in the national points followed by a 6th place in 1970 and a 5th place in 71. He also placed 4th in both 73 and 74 and is 14th in all time USAC feature wins with 24. He won the Turkey Night Midget Grand Prix in 1971 & 1973. He was Inducted into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 1997.
Johnny Mantz won the 40 lap AAA Sprint Car race over Andy Linden, Manuel Ayulo and Red Amick at the Arizona State Fairgrounds, Phoenix, AZ .

Geoff Brabham... Born ... An Australian racing driver. He is the son of three-time Formula One World Champion Jack Brabham. Brabham spent the majority of his racing career in the United States. He raced successfully in CART early in his career. In ten appearances in the Indianapolis 500, with a best result of fourth in 1983. His greatest source of success was in various forms of sports cars, winning four IMSA GTP titles (1988 - 1991) and one Can-Am championship (1981). He also won the 1993 Le Mans 24 hours, took two race victories in the International Race of Champions (1992 and 1993), both at Michigan and started in the Brickyard 400 Nascar race.
Jerry Unser won the Sportsman feature race at Honolulu Stadium in Hawaii.
Larry Crockett... Died ... AAA driver who ran the Championship series in 1954. He was killed in a sprint car accident at Langhorne Speedway.
Mike Nazaruk , driving the Nyquist #29, won the 25-lap AAA Eastern Sprint Car race on the 1 mile dirt Langhorne Speedway in Langhorne, PA.
Don Branson won the 30 lap USAC Sprint Car race at the Meyer Speedway, Houston, TX. ( Click here for the race report. )
Marvin Porter won the 50 lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car race at the Ascot Stadium, Los Angeles, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Parnelli Jones won the 50 lap USAC Midget race at the Tucson Motor Speedway, Tucson, AZ.

Dick Hutcherson won the NASCAR Grand National 'Southeastern 500' at Bristol International Speedway. David Pearson led most of the first 2/3 of the 500 lap race on the 1/2 mile paved oval before problems sent the Cotton Owens Dodge to the pits. By the time Pearson retired with a broken timing chain, Hutcherson had a 7 lap lead. Hutcherson eased the Holman-Moody Ford around the remaining laps, taking the flag 4 laps ahead of Paul Lewis' independent Plymouth. The Wood Brothers entered a Ford for Curtis Turner listed as a Fairlane, but with the front end of a didn't pass tech inspection.
Jim McElreath drove a Ford powered Brabham to victory in the 150 mile USAC Championship race on the 1 mile paved Phoenix International Raceway.
Richard Petty wins the Atlanta 500 over David Pearson at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.
James McElreath won the 50 lap USAC Sprint Car race at the Salem Speedway, Salem, IN.
Dale Earnhardt wins the Motorcraft 500 over Rusty Wallace at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.

Kenny Bernstein became the first drag racer to break 300 MPH in the quarter mile when he drove his Top Fuel Dragster 301.70 MPH in qualifications for the NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville, Florida.
Morgan Shepherd wins the Motorcraft 500 over Ernie Irvan at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.
Carl Edwards wins the Golden Corral 500 over Jimmie Johnson at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.
Kasey Kahne wins the Golden Corral 500 over Mark Martin at the Atlanta Motor Speedway , Atlanta, GA.
Al Hofmann ... Died ... Veteran NHRA Funny Car driver. Hofmann won 15 NHRA national events in just 32 final round appearances. Hofmann was a regular in the NHRA Drag Racing Series from 1991 through 1996 and raced on a more limited schedule through 2002.
Kyle Busch won the NASCAR Sprint Cup race over Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth and Paul Menard at the Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol TN.
Kyle Busch won the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Fr8Auctions 200 at Atlanta Motor Speedway, Atlanta, GA. Austin Hill was second followed by John Hunter Nemechek, Johnny Sauter and Sheldon Creed.
Justin Allgaier held off hard charging Martin Truex Jr. and won the EchoPark 250 NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Atlanta, GA. Harrison Burton was third followeed by Noah Gragson and A.J. Allmendinger.
Alan Krimes won the 410 Sprint Car Feature at the Lincoln Speedway , Abbottstown, PA, Chase Dietz was second followed by Freddie Rahmer, Danny Dietrich and Brandon Rahmer. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Justin Peck won the 410 Sprint Car Feature at the Port Royal Speedway , Port Royal, PA, Anthony Macri was second followed by Logan Wagner, Dylan Cisney, and Mike Wagner. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Michael "Buddy" Kofoid went from the lead, to the work area, and back to the lead to steal the 30-lap Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget victory and go back-to-back at Monarch Motor Speedway, Wichita Falls, TX . Cannon McIntosh finished second followed by Diason Pursley, Bryant Wiedeman and Brent Crews.
JJ Hickle won the 25-lap ASCS Sprint Car feature at the Devil's Bowl Speedway, Mesquite, Texas. Dylan Westbrook finished second followed by Roger Crockett, Matt Covington and Scott Bogucki.
Brad Sweet won the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series race at the Cotton Bowl Speedway, Paige, TX . Brent Marks was second followed by Cory Eliason, David Gravel and Sheldon Haudenschild. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Eric Mauriello driving for Jimmy Blewett won the rescheduled 100-lap Turkey Derby Wall Modified event. Andrew Krause was second followed by Tom Martino, Anthony Sesely and Steven Reed.
Jonathan Davenport won the 40-lap Super Late Model race part of the Bristol Dirt Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway. Kyle Larson finished second followed by Scott Bloomquist, Bobby Pierce and Frank Ingram.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.