MARCH 29th



Johnny Coy... Born ... ( His real name was John Barbaro) Coy raced everything from jalopies to modifieds, but it was in the midgets where he excelled. He started running midgets in the late '40's at Freeport. He drifted out to Oklahoma where they ran 6 nights a week. Returning to Long Island in the '50's he jumped into the stocks and ran both. He ran NASCAR Grand Nationals at Langhorne in 1957 , beating Buck Baker and the Keikhafer crew in his own "ill prepared" Chrysler 300. Coy passed his drivers test at Indianapolis in 1962, but the car broke during a qualifying run. He continued driving midgets with ARDC and TQ's with ATQMRA until arthritis got the best of his hands in 1984 and helped his two sons ARDC and NEMA Champion Joey Coy and Johnny Coy Jr.
Bill Vukovich Jr. ... Born ... A former driver in the championship car division of USAC and CART Championship Car series. He was named the 1968 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year, a result of his 7th place finish. Vukovich raced in the 1965-1982 seasons, with 158 combined career starts, including the Indianapolis 500 in 1968-1977, 1979-1980. He finished in the top ten 85 times, with one victory in 1973 at Brooklyn. He also had 23 National midget car victories in his career, and drove for part of his career in Christopher J.C. Agajanian's midget car. He was inducted in the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 1998. Bill Jr. is the son of 2-time Indy 500 Winner, Bill Vukovich and the father of Bill Vukovich III, both of whom were killed in racing accidents.

Charles Glenn Howard... Died ... AAA driver from the 1920's.
Herb Thomas took the lead from Dick Rathmann with 18 laps to go and went on to win the 125 mile NASCAR Grand National race on the .625 mile dirt North Wilkesboro Speedway (North Wilkesboro, North Carolina). Thomas and Rathmann both drove Hudson Hornets.
Tommy Hinnershitz , driving the Hinnershitz #1, won the 30-lap AAA Eastern Sprint Car race on the 1/2 mile dirt Reading Fairgrounds in Reading, PA.
Chip Robinson... Born ... A retired race car driver. He drove in the IMSA Camel GT series and won the 1987 24 Hours of Daytona (with Al Holbert, Derek Bell, and Al Unser, Jr. in a Porsche) and the 1989 12 Hours of Sebring (with Arie Luyendyk and Geoff Brabham) in a Nissan. He made 5 CART starts in 1986 and 1987 with a best finish of 6th at the 1987 Long Beach Grand Prix. Chip Robinson was invited to the International Race of Champions in 1988. During this time his best finish was second place, at Riverside International Raceway.
Junior Johnson drove his Ford past Curtis Turner on the 177th lap and went on to take the checkered 3 seconds ahead of Turner's T-Bird in the 100 mile NASCAR GN race on the 1/2 mile dirt Wilson Speedway (Wilson, North Carolina). Before the race, the wooden main grandstand caught fire and burned to the ground. There were no injuries, but time trials were cancelled.

Doug Heveron... Born ... An American race car driver from Liverpool, New York. He has driven supermodifieds, modifieds, Indy cars, NASCAR Winston Cup cars, NASCAR Busch Grand National cars, sprint cars, late models and midgets.
A.J. Foyt won the 30 lap USAC Sprint Car race at the Reading Fairgrounds Speedway, Reading, PA. Jimmy Maguire finished second followed by Johnny White, Jiggs Peters and Mario Andretti.
Bobby Allison made up a lap with 10 laps to go and beat Cale Yarborough to win the NASCAR GN 'Atlanta 500'. Leader Yarborough was pulling away from second running Donnie Allison when he pitted the Wood Brothers Mercury for the final time with 10 laps left. As Yarborough stopped, D.Allison blew his motor, bringing out a yellow. Bobby was able to make up a lap and pit the Mario Rossi Dodge under yellow, taking on new tires. Bobby took the checkered 50 feet ahead of Yarborough.

Darrell Waltrip won the 500 lap NASCAR GN race on the high banked .533 mile Bristol International Raceway. Waltrip "bumped" leader Dale Earnhardt on lap 118, sending Earnhardt into the wall and out of the race. Ricky Rudd was second, 2.5 seconds behind Waltrip's Junior Johnson Buick.
Dale Earnhardt wins the TranSouth 500 over Bill Elliott at the Darlington Raceway , Darlington, SC.
Bill Elliott wins the TranSouth 500 over Harry Gant at the Darlington Raceway , Darlington, SC.

Jeff Gordon wins the Food City 500 over Terry Labonte at the Bristol Motor Speedway , Bristol, TN.
Bob Veith... Died ... AAA and USAC driver. Ran the Championship Car series, racing from 1955 to 1968 with 63 starts. He finished in the top ten 37 times, with a best finish of 2nd twice, both in 1958. Veith qualified for his first Indianapolis 500 in 1956, finishing 7th that year to win the Rookie of the Year award. After another top 10 finish the next year, he qualified 4th in 1958 but was knocked out of the race in a first lap accident that killed Pat O'Connor. He competed in the 500 eight more times, with his last start coming in 1968.
Scott Dixon won the Gainsco Auto Insurance Indy 300 IRL Indycar race at the Homestead-Miami Speedway , Homestead, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Roger Crockett won the Golden State Challenge Series race at the Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway , Tulare, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Mike Spencer won the USAC-CRA Sprint Car race at the Perris Auto Speedway , Perris, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Todd Shaffer won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Port Royal Speedway , Port Royal, PA.
Jonathan DeHaven won the Late Model race at the Winchester Speedway , Winchester, VA.
Dave Calaman won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Selinsgrove Speedway , Selinsgrove, PA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Fred Rahmer won the 410 Sprint Car race over Alan Krimes, Doug Esh, Chad Layton and Lance Dewease at the Lincoln Speedway , Abbottstown, PA.
Duane Howard won the Big Block Modified race over Jimmy Horton, Mike Gular, Doug Manmiller, Jeff Strunk, Brett Hearn and Ryan Godown at the Big Diamond Raceway , Forestville, PA.
Martin Truex Jr. won the twice-rain-delayed Pinty’s Truck Race on Dirt at Bristol Motor Speedway. Ben Rhodes was second followed by Raphael Lessard, Todd Gilliland and Chase Briscoe.
Joey Logano led the final 61 laps in the face of a determined charge by Denny Hamlin, Logano won the rain-delayed Food City Dirt Race in overtime at Bristol Motor Speedway, the first dirt-track race for the NASCAR Cup Series since 1970. On the final restart on Lap 252, Logano pulled away, as Hamlin tried and failed to find grip in the outside lane and fell to third behind runner-up Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Logano’s winning margin over Stenhouse was .554 seconds. Daniel Suarez finished fourth and Ryan Newman rounded out the top five. Click to watch the video highlights.



To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.