Tommy Milton drives the Miller powered Durant Special to victory in a 250-mile race at Beverly Hills, California. Peter DePaolo made his AAA Championship debut.
Ernie Triplett ... Died ... Ernie Triplett-Al Gordon duels in AAA Pacific Coast Championship races came to an end after a tragic accident on the dusty 1 mile dirt oval at the California Mid-Winter Fairgrounds. Triplett and Gordon were dueling for the lead when they came upon Swede Smith's car. Smith had hit another car stalled on the track for many laps. Triplett, Smith and a mechanic that had run to Smith's aid all died in the resulting accident and Gordon suffered a broken nose and other facial injuries.
URC , the United Racing Club, made a public announcement that was sent to the National Speed Sport News that URC was now an independent sanctioning body and was no longer affiliated in any way with the AAA.
Tony Bonadies won the TQ Midget race at the Teaneck Armory, Teaneck, NJ. ( Click here for the race report. )
A.J. Shepherd won the CRA Sprint Car race at the Imperial Mid-Winter Fair, Imperial, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Al Chamberlain won the NARC Super Modified race at the Jacksonville Speedway, Jacksonville, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
PeeWee Griffin won the Modified race at the Hialeah Speedway, Miami, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )

Rex White drove his Chevy to victory over Cotton Owens, Ned Jarrett, Richard Petty and Emanuel Zervakis in the 100 mile NASCAR GN race on the 1/2 mile paved Asheville-Weaverville Speedway, Weaverville, NC.
Richard Petty scored the 50th win of his NASCAR GN career by winning the 'Fireball 300' on the 1/2 mile paved Asheville-Weaverville Speedway.
A.J. Foyt climbed into the Wood Brothers Ford and drove it to Victory Lane in Ontario, CA at the 2.5 mile speedway. Foyt and the Wood Brothers sat on the pole and took home a purse of $25,595. The win at Ontario in 1972 marked the 39th victory in the Wood Brothers Racing career, their 25th superspeedway win, and the fourth and final win with Foyt as their driver.
Jack Epperson won the NASCAR Supermodified race at the San Jose Speedway in San Jose, CA. Howard Keading finished second followed by Nick Rescino, Ernie Rose and Kenny Van Blargen.
David Pearson took the 100th win of his NASCAR GN career when he took the checkered in the 'Carolina 500' at North Carolina Motor Speedway. Benny Parsons and Pearson hooked fenders while battling for the lead with 36 laps to go, spinning Pearson. Pearson pitted for new tires then ran down and passed Parsons for the lead. Donnie Allison, driving relief for brother Bobby, finished second in the Bud Moore Ford. Parsons wound up third. Afterwards, Pearson said "I was the maddest I've ever been. I don't think he did it for meanness, but I was determined I was going to run him down and pass him. I wasn't going to do anything crazy like take us both out of the race. But I wanted to win this one real bad."
Jerry Nuckles won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the Prairie Capital Convention Center, Springfield, IL.

Rusty Wallace won the Goodwrench 500 over Alan Kulwicki at the North Carolina Speedway , Rockingham, NC. ( Click here for the race results. )
Tommy White won the USAC Western Midget race at the Imperial Raceway, El Centro, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Terry Labonte wins the Pontiac 400 over Dale Earnhardt at the Richmond International Raceway , Richmond, VA.

Jeff Burton won the 400 over Tony Stewart at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway , Las Vegas, NV.
Damion Gardner won the USAC / CRA Sprint Car race at the Perris Auto Speedway, Perris, CA.
Brian Montieth won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Lincoln Speedway , Abbottstown, PA. ( Click here for the race results. )
Mark Martin won the Sam's Town 300 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway , Las Vegas, NV. ( Click here for the race results. )
Will Vaught won the O'Reilly SUPR Late Model Series race at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track , Fort Worth, TX.
John Hunter Nemechek earned his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win in four years, holding off his boss Kyle Busch by 0.695-seconds for the victory in the Bucked Up 200 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Austin Hill was third followed by Stewart Friesen and Matt Crafton.
Carson Macedo won the World of Outlaws race at the Volusia Speedway Park, Barberville, FL. Sam Hafertepe Jr. was second followed by Gio Scelzi, Donny Schatz and David Gravel.. Click to watch the feature highlights video.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.