Bill Schindler... Born ... East Coast midget, sprint and Indy car driver.
Frank Lockhart sets a one-lap record at the Culver City, California, high banked 1.25 mile board track of 144.2 mph driving a 91 cubic inch displacement Miller with supercharger and intercooler. This was the first intercooled, supercharger in an automobile. Leon Duray won the race.
Eddie Hill ... Born ... American drag racer. He was inducted in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 2002. He was ranked 14th on NHRA's Top 50 drivers in 2001. He was inducted in the NHRA Drag Racing Hall of Fame in 1978, and the Texas Motor Sports Hall of Fame in 2007. In 2000, he was inducted in the Don Garlit's International Drag Racing Hall of Fame.

Smokey Snellbaker... Born ... Central Pennsylvania sprint car driver.
Marshall Teague drove his Hudson Hornet to victory in the 100 mile NASCAR Grand National race on the 1/2 mile dirt Speedway Park oval in Jacksonville, Florida. Teammate Herb Thomas was second, giving the Teaguemobile Hudsons their second straight 1-2 sweep. It was Teague's 7th and last career GN win as he soon left for the AAA circuit.
Lee Petty won the 100 mile NASCAR GN race on the 1/2 mile dirt Oglethorpe Speedway at Savannah, Georgia in his Chrysler New Yorker. Former IMCA champ Don White of Keokuk, Iowa finished 4 laps down in second. White lost the 4 laps on a mid-race pit stop.
Joe Garson won the AAA Midget race at the Kearny Bowl, Fresno, CA.
Parnelli Jones won the CRA Sprint Car race at the Imperial Mid-Winter Fair, Imperial, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Arkie Moore won the CJA Hot Rod race at the Gardena Stadium, Gardena, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Chuck Rodee won the 40 lap USAC Midget race at the Golden Gate Speedway, Tampa, FL.

Jules Goux... Died ... AAA driver from 1913 to 1923. He was a Grand Prix racing champion and the first Frenchman to win the Indianapolis 500 (1913) , as well as the first European to do so.
Larry Dickson won the 40 lap USAC Sprint Car race at the Miami-Hollywood Speedway, Hollywood, FL.
Mario Andretti in his Ferrari took top honors and set fastest lap of the race in Kyalami, South Africa . Jackie Stewart sat on pole and finished second in his Tyrrell with Clay Regazzoni coming in third with the other Ferrari. This was Andretti's first win in F1.
A.J. Foyt won the 200 mile Indy Car race on the 2.5 mile Ontario Motor Speedway. Foyt averaged 154.073 mph in his Foyt/Coyote. The Indy Car opener saw new cars, the new Cosworth engine and new USAC rules requiring a pop-off valve for qualifying runs. Powered by one of the new Cosworth motors, Johnny Rutherford put his McLaren on the pole at 197.36 mph, a full second and 4 mph faster than 2nd fast Tom Sneva in Roger Penske's McLaren-Cosworth. Alan Jones qualified the Theodore Racing McLaren, but uncomfortable, was replaced by Steve Krisiloff for the race.

Allen Heath... Died ... West Coast open cockpit driver who raced for years, despite losing a hand in a racing accident.
Dave Bradway Jr won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at the Silver Dollar Speedway , Chico, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Neil Bonnett wins the Goodwrench 500 over Lake Speed at the North Carolina Speedway , Rockingham, NC.

Ernie Irvan wins the Pontiac 400 over Rusty Wallace at the Richmond International Raceway , Richmond, VA.
Carl Edwards won the Kobalt Tools 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway , Las Vegas, NV. ( Click here for the race results. )
AJ Allmendinger drove to his first victory of the NASCAR Xfinity Series season , pulling away in a late-race restart at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Daniel Hemric settled in for second place in the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, marking the eighth runner-up finish of his career without a win. Hemric's teammate Brandon Jones took third, with defending series champion Austin Cindric fourth and Noah Gragson closing out the top five finishers.
Aaron Reutzel won the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series feature at East Bay Raceway Park , Tampa, FL. Brad Sweet was second followed by Carson Macedo, Donny Schatz and Logan Schuchart.. Click to watch the feature highlights video.

Tim Shaffer won the 410 Sprint Car race at the Lincoln Speedway Abbottstown, PA. Hunter Schuerenberg was second followed by Billy Dietrich, Glenndon Forsythe, Kyle Moody, Danny Dietrich, Chase Dietz, Freddie Rahmer, Tim Glatfelter and Rick Lafferty.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.