MAY 20th


MAY 20

Louis Chevrolet drove a Fiat to fastest time in a 1 mile time trial and also won a 3 lap "Free for All" event n the inauguaral motor racing events on the 1.39 mile dirt Morris Park oval in the Bronx, New York
Bob Sweikert... Born ... AAA / USAC driver. Best known as the winner of the 1955 Indianapolis 500 and the 1955 National Championship, as well as the 1955 Midwest Sprint car championship - the only driver in history to sweep all three in a single season. His "Indy 500" win was over-shadowed by the fatal crash of two-time winner Bill Vukovich during the race earlier that day. Sweikert finished sixth at Indianapolis the following May, but then died weeks later, at age 30, in 1956 after crashing a Sprint car at Salem Speedway.

Bobby Ball won the URA Midget race at the South Mountain Speedway, Phoenix, AZ
Frankie Luptow won the IMCA Sprint Car race at the Peoria Fairgrounds,Peoria, IL
Troy Ruttman, in the J.C. Agajanian # 98, won the AAA Sprint Car race at the Salem Speedway,Salem, IN
Leroy Warriner won the AAA Midget race at the Cincinnati Race Bowl, Cincinnati, OH.
Johnny Kay won the AAA Midget race at the Motor City Speedway, Detroit, MI.
George Amick won the AAA Midget race at the Lafayette Stadium, Lafayette,IN
Bobby Courtwright, in the Scats Anfuso # 3, won the URC Sprint Car race over Mike SanFelice, Toby Tobias, Tommy McAndrew and Bobby Marshman at the Nazareth Raceway, Nazareth,PA
Elmer George won the USAC Sprint Car race over Dick Rathmann, Bob King, Rex Easton and Don Branson at the Winchester Speedway, Winchester,IN
Bill Moore won the CRA Sprint Car race over Allen Heath, Clay Robbins, Bobby Hogle and Ray Douglas at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA
Red Riegel won the ARDC Midget race at the Hatfield Speedway, Hatfield, PA
Johnny Mackison won the Super Modified race over Dizzy Dean, Bobby Hersh, Neil Haight and Bobby Abel at the Lincoln Speedway, Hanover,PA

Bill Eldridge won the ARDC Midget race at the Thompson Int. Speedway, Thompson, CT
Billy Cantrell won the CRA Sprint Car race over Colby Scroggin, Hal Minyard, Jack Brunner and Don Thomas at the Riverside International Raceway (1/2p), Riverside, CA
Gordon Woolley won the Sprint Car race over Greg Weld, Bob Williams, Junior Hower and Virgil Chapman at the Olympic Stadium, Kansas City,MO
George Janowski and Lou Lazzaro won the Sportsman Stock Car races at the Victoria Speedway , Dunnsville, NY. ( Click here for the race report. )
Bobby Gerhart won the Super Modified race over Bobby Brymesser, Leroy Felty, Milford Wales and Paul Miller at the Williams Grove Speedway, Williams Grove,PA
Wib Spaulding won the Sprint Car race over Gordon Woolley, Chuck Lynch, Jim Moughan and Tom Bigelow at the Saint Charles Speedway, St. Charles, MO
Steve Ungar won the Sprint Car race over Dave Lundy, Lou Blaney, Jerry Matus and J.D. Leas at the Greater Pittsburgh Speedway, Pittsburgh,PA
Dutch Schaefer won the ARDC Midget race at the Old Bridge Stadium, Old Bridge,NJ
Tony Stewart... Born ... USAC / IRL/ NASCAR star.

Rollie Beale won the USAC Sprint Car race over Charlie Masters, Johnny Parsons, Tom Bigelow and Jerry Poland at the Toledo Speedway, Toledo,OH
Tom Sneva became the first man to average over 200 mph in qualifying for the Indianapolis 500. His 4-lap average is 203.620 mph, put his Penske-Cosworth on the pole.
Neil Bonnett wins the Mason-Dixon 500 over Cale Yarborough at the Dover International Speedway, Dover DE
Chuck Gurney won the USAC Sprint Car race over Bob East, Mark Alderson, Red Bledsoe and Jerry Weeks at the U.S 131 Raceway Park,Martin,MI.
Bill Holland... Died ... AAA driver from the 1930's 40's and 50's. He won the Indianapolis 500 in 1949.
Richard Petty wins the Budweiser 500 over Tim Richmond at the Dover International Speedway, Dover DE

Kurt Johnson runs the first NHRA Pro Stock sub-7 second 1/4 mile with a 6.988 second pass at the Mopar Parts Nationals
Jeg Coughlin Jr. set an NHRA Pro Stock 1/4 mile ET record of 6.822 seconds at Englishtown, New Jersey.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.