John Rostek ... Born ... A NASCAR driver from Fort Collins, CO. Despite racing in just six Nextel Cup Series events in his career, Rostek earned one victory, one pole and three top-tens. Five of his six races came in 1960, when Rostek debuted at Daytona, racing in the Daytona 500 qualifier. But a crash on the fifth lap would end his chances of a good finish and making the 500, finishing 39th. But his rebound was amazing. In his next race, Phoenix, Rostek took the lead midway through the event, led 58 laps and pulled away to a shocking victory. He proved it was no fluke later in the year, finishing 3rd at Hanford and 7th at Montgomery after leading seven laps and starting on the pole. Rostek's final race came in 1963, racing at Riverside. Starting 27th in the forty-four car field, Rostek seemed poised for another top-ten finish before a late crash sidelined him to 16th. He also raced with the USAC Stock Car Division from 1958 to 1964.
Norman Batten... Died ... AAA driver from the 1920's.
Allen Crowe ... Born ... He drove in the USAC Championship Car series, racing in the 1961-1963 seasons with 15 starts, including the 1962 and 1963 Indianapolis 500 races. He finished in the top ten 6 times, with his best finish in 5th position in 1962 at Syracuse. Crowe died in New Bremen, Ohio from injuries sustained in a sprint car race at New Bremen Speedway (June 2,1963).

Jimmy Davies won the AAA sanctioned Phoenix 100 Race on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval Arizona State Fairgrounds in Phoenix, Arizona. Tony Bettenhausen finished second followed by Johnnie Parsons, Chuck Stevenson and Walt Faulkner.
George Amick won the USAC sanctioned Bobby Ball Memorial Race on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval Arizona State Fairgrounds in Phoenix, Arizona. Jimmy Bryan finished second followed by Jimmy Reece, Andy Linden and Johnnie Tolan.
Jimmy Riddle won the Modified feature at the Sunshine Speedway, St. Petersburg, FL.
Don Branson ... Died ... He drove in the USAC Championship Car series and also in sprint cars, racing champ cars in the 1956-1966 seasons with 129 starts, including the 1959-1966 Indianapolis 500 races. He finished in the top ten 85 times, with 7 victories. Branson died at Ascot Park in Gardena, CA in a November, 1966 crash which also claimed Dick Atkins. There are those who believe a heart attack may have been responsible for the crash which claimed both Branson and Dick Atkins that day. Branson was going to retire after the 1966 season and had accepted an appointment to join Goodyear as Field Manager for USAC Champ racing and was due to start on January 1st 1967. He was inducted in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 1994.
Roger McCluskey won the USAC Sprint Car race over Frank Secrist, Hal Minyard, Larry Dickson and Dick Fries at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.

Billy Vukovich won the USAC Midget race at the Cajon Speedway, San Diego,CA. Mel Kenyon was second followed by Mike McGreevy, Bruce Walkup, Gary Bettenhausen and Johnny Rutherford.
Sheldon Kinser won the USAC Sprint Car race over Bobby Olivero, Rick Goudy, Billy Cassella and Jimmy Oskie at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.
Jimmy Riddle won the Sprint Car race over David Smith, Billy Yuma, Jerry Rod and Doc Miller at the East Bay Raceway Park, Tampa,FL.

Lealand McSpadden won the CRA Sprint Car race over Mike Sweeney, Ron Shuman, Rip Williams and Walt Kennedy at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.
Doug Wolfgang won the USA Sprint Car race over Steve Kinser, Dave Blaney, Bobby Davis Jr and Mark Kinser at the Devil's Bowl Speedway, Dallas,TX.
P.J. Jones won the USAC Midget race at the Ventura Raceway, Ventura,CA.
Dale Earnhardt won the NASCAR Winston Cup NAPA 500 over Sterling Marlin at the Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, GA.

Tony Stewart won the NASCAR Winston Cup Pennzoil 400 over Jeremy Mayfield at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, FL.
Kevin Harvick won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Checker Auto Parts 500 over Jimmie Johnson at the Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, AZ.
Jack Doverwon the 25-lap 600th Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National Sprint Car race at the Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, NM. Johnny Herrera was second followed by Steve Kinser, Wayne Johnson and Tim Crawley.
Clint Bowyer won the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150 at the Phoenix International Raceway in Avondale, AZ. Kyle Busch was second followed by Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton and Aric Almirola.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.