Tommy Milton ... Born ... Milton was blind in the right eye at birth and had poor vision in his left eye. Yet he was the first driver to win the Indianapolis 500 twice, in 1921 and 1923. He was also the first to win the national driving championship two years in a row, in 1920 and 1921. He began racing on dirt tracks in the Midwest in 1914 and won his first major victory at Providence, RI, in 1917. Milton won five of nine championship races in 1919 before suffering severe burns when his car burst into flames during a race at Uniontown, NJ. In 1920, he not only won the driving championship, he set a new land speed record of 156.046 mph in a special 16-cylinder Duesenberg that he helped to design. He retired from competition after the 1925 season. Milton became chief steward of the Indianapolis 500 from 1949 to 1957, when he retired because of poor health. Milton had 17 victories in 85 races on dirt tracks and finished in the top five 35 other times.
Joe Saldana... Born ... a former driver in the USAC and CART Championship Car series. He raced in the 1977-1980 seasons, with 31 combined career starts, including the 1978-1979 Indianapolis 500. He finished in the top ten 10 times, with a best finish of 6th position in 1979 at Atlanta. He won the 1970 Knoxville Nationals, the premiere event in sprint car racing and the 1976 Hoosier Hundred USAC Silver Crown race. Saldana was inducted in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 2000. His son Joey (the "Brownsburg Bullet") races with the World of Outlaws sprint car series..

Johnny Mantz won the AAA Western Sprint Car race at the Carrell Speedway,Gardena, CA.
Bobby Ball won the 100 lap URA Midget Car race at the South Mountain Speedway (1/4d) , Phoenix, AZ.
Jimmy Bryan won the AAA sanctioned Silver State Century on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval Las Vegas Park in Las Vegas, Nevada. Manny Ayulo was second followed by Jimmy Davies, Rodger Ward and Andy Linden.
Bobby Allison and Rod Perry won the twin 30-lap Modified features at the Hollywood Speedway, Hollywood,FL.
Hal Browning won the Super Modified race at the Lincoln Speedway, Hanover,PA.

Bruce Walkup won the USAC Midget race at the Manzanita Speedway (1/2d), Phoenix,AZ. Mike McGreevy was second followed by Jimmy Caruthers, Bob Tattersall and Don Brown.
Billy Cassella won the USAC Sprint Car race over George Snider, Pancho Carter, Sheldon Kinser and Tom Bigelow at the Cajon Speedway, San Diego,CA.
Dean Thompson won the CRA Sprint Car race over Mike Sweeney, Lealand McSpadden, Sonny Nutter and Rip Williams at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.
Will Cagle and Bobby Alexander finished in a dead tie in the Late Model feature race at the East Bay Speedway in Gibsonton, FL. Donnie Tanner was third followed by Wayne Reutimann and Dennis Langston.

Ron Shuman won the CRA Sprint Car race at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.
Jimmy Sills won the winged Sprint Car race at the Baylands Raceway Park, Fremont,CA.
Sammy Swindell won the winged Sprint Car race over Dave Blaney, Lealand McSpadden, Danny Smith and Jeff Swindell at the Devil's Bowl Speedway, Dallas,TX.
Mike Appio won the USAC Midget race over Mario Bringetto, Rich Vogler, Wally Pankratz and P.J. Jones at the Ventura Raceway, Ventura,CA.
Joe Gaerte won the USAC Midget race at the Kings Speedway,Hanford,CA. Robby Flock was second followed by Sleepy Tripp, Tony Elliott and Brent Keading.
Rusty Wallace won the NASCAR Winston Cup Hooters 500 over Ricky Rudd at the Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, GA.

Tony Stewart won the NASCAR Winston Cup Pennzoil 400 over Bobby Labonte at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, FL.
Jimmie Johnson won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Mountain Dew Southern 500 over Mark Martin at the Darlington Raceway, Darlington, SC.
Carl Edwards snapped a 70-race winless streak and won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Kobalt Tools 500 over Ryan Newman, Joey Logano, Greg Biffle and Jimmie Johnson at the Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, AZ.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.