Budd Olson ... Born ... New Jersey Stock Car driver from the 1940's, 50's and 60's. From local dirt tracks to NASCAR, Budd Olsen built a solid reputation, first as a driver and then as one of the leading race car builders in the region.
Bill Holland won the AAA Eastern Sprint Car race at the Cedartown Fairgrounds,Cedartown, GA.
Johnnie Parsons won the 100 mile AAA Championship race on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval Langhorne Speedway, Langhorne, PA. Neal Carter finished second followed by Johnny Fedricks, Paul Russo and Tommy Hinnershitz.
Speed McFee won the AAA Eastern Sprint Car race at the Mason-Dixon Speedway,Sylmar, PA.

Bill Cheesbourg won the Midget race at the Manzanita Speedway, Phoenix, AZ.
Jack Jordan won the URA Midget race at the South Mountain Speedway, Phoenix, AZ.
Duane Carter won the Ted Horn/Bill Schindler Memorial AAA Eastern Sprint Car race over Tommy Hinnershitz and Eddie Sachs at the Williams Grove Speedway, Mechanicsburg, PA.
Jimmy Bryan won the AAA sanctioned Golden State 100 on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval California State Fairgrounds in Sacramento, California. Johnny Thomson was second followed by Bob Sweikert, Andy Linden and Pat O'Connor.
Jim Hurtubise won the USAC Eastern Sprint Car race at the Reading Fairgrounds, Reading, PA. A.J. Foyt was second followed by Don Branson, Leroy Neumeyer and Jim McWithey.
Shorty Templeman won the USAC Midget race at the Kearney Bowl, Fresno,CA.
Gene Hartley won the USAC Midget race at the New Bremen Speedway, New Bremen,OH.

Bobby Unser won the USAC Midget race at the Speedway Park, Albuquerque,NM.
Mike McGreevy won the USAC Midget race at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.
Don Edmunds won the Sprint Car race at the Cajon Speedway, San Diego,CA.
Donnie Allison made his NASCAR Grand National debut and finished 27th at the Charlotte Motor Speedway in North Carolina.
Don Branson, in the #24 Ken Brenn Offy, won the Hut Hundred USAC Midget race over Bob Wente and Mike McGreevy at the Terre Haute Action Track , Terre Haute,IN.
Kenny Weld won the Super Modified race at the Lincoln Speedway, Hanover, PA.
Harry Benjamin won both of the URC Sprint Car feature races and Stan Ploski won the Modified Stock Car race at the Flemington Fair Speedway, Flemington,NJ. ( Click here for the race report. )
Gary Balough won the Late Model Stock Car race at the Hialeah Speedway, Hialeah, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Jim Keppley won the Modified Stock Car race at the Penn National Speedway, Grantville, PA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Ramo Stott won the Salem 500 ARCA Stock Car race at the Salem Speedway, Salem, IN. ( Click here for the race report. )
Wayne Reutimann won the Sprint Car race at the Golden Gate Speedway, Tampa, FL. ( Click here for the race report. )

Bubby Jones won the Western World Sprint Car race at the Manzanita Speedway , Phoenix, AZ. Ron Shuman was second followed by Fred Linder, Rick Ferkel and Joe Saldana.
James McElreath... Died ... USAC Sprint Car driver, son of Jim McElreath. James recorded 2 USAC wins in 1977, before his fatal sprint car accident at Winchester Speedway. James was also the 1976 USAC Midget "Rookie of the Year".
Doug Hoffman won the fourth annual Eastern States 75-lap Sportsman race at the Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, NY. Steve Bottcher was second followed by Ralph Heotzler, Reggie Sellick and Jeff Scaccio.
Tony Siscone won the first annual 70-lap Budweiser Crown Race at the Wall Stadium in Belmar, NJ. Ray Evernham was second followed by Lenny Boyd, Mark Engle, Eddie Bohn, Jerry Cranmer, Jamie Tomaino, Tom Baldwin, Doug Craig and Ed Lilly.
Ken Schrader and Sheldon Kinser won the two 20-lap USAC Sprint Car races at the 311 Speedway in Madison, NC.
Steve Kinser won the 30-lap World of Outlaws Sprint Car race at the Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, OH. Jac Haudenschild was second followed by Brad Doty, Keith Kauffman, Danny Smith, Dave Blaney, Shane Carson, Ron Shuman, Sammy Swindell and Fred Linder.
Doug Wolfgang won the World of Outlaws Copenhagen/Skoal Shootout preliminary Sprint Car race at the San Jose Fairgrounds Speedway, San Jose, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Rusty Wallace won the NASCAR Winston Cup Holly Farms 400 over Phil Parsons at the North Wilkesboro Speedway, North Wilkesboro, NC.
Rick Fuller won the Winston Modified Tour race, Doug Heveron won the IMSA Supermodified race, Bob Potter won the Winston Racing Series Modified race, Phil Rondeau won the Late Model Stock car race, John Rosati won the Pro-Stocks race, Rich Savary won the Mini Modifieds race and Drew Fornoro won the NEMA Midget race at the Thompson International Speedway, Thompson, CT.
Jack Johnson won the Mohawk Valley 200 Modified Stock Car race at the Fonda Speedway, Fonda, NY. ( Click here for the race report. )
Kenny Jacobs, driving the Buckley built Weikert Livestock # 29, won the 40-lap Sprint Car race at the Susquehanna Speedway, Newberrytown, PA. Stevie Smith Jr. was second followed by Kenny Adams, Fred Rahmer, Dan Dietrich, Keith Kauffman, Johnny Mackison Jr., Dave Haight, Don Kreitz and Joe Gravino.
Donny Moran won the 8th Annual Dirt World Championship Late Model race at the Pennsboro Speedway, Pennsboro, WV.
Elvin Felty won two of the 4-Dozen features as Billy Pauch and Toby Tobias Jr. each took one victory in the popular four twelve lap feature format, at the Bridgeport Speedway, Bridgeport, NJ.
Chip Slocum and Darryl Carman each won Small Bock Modified features at the East Windsor Speedway, Hightstown, NJ. In the postponed feature, Slocum was the winner over Darryl Carman, Meme DeSantis, Carl Elfvin and Jimmy Horton Sr. In the regularly scheduled feature Darryl Carman won over Newt Hartman, Paul Rochelle, Chic Cossaboone, Fred Dmuchowski, Tom Capie, Walt Laudien, John Muliczar, John Romano and Floyd Ballard.
Danny Sullivan won the Champion Spark Plug 300 kilometer CART race at the Laguna Seca Raceway in Monterey, CA. Michael Andretti finished second followed by his father Mario, Bobby Rahal, Rick Mears, Al Unser Jr., Derek Daly, Didier Theys, Kevin Cogan and Teo Fabi.

Jan Leaty won the Miller Genuine Draft World Series NASCAR Modified Tour race at the Thompson International Speedway, Thompson, CT. Mike Ewanitsko was second followed by Reggie Ruggiero, Tim Connolly and Satch Worley.
Jimmie Johnson won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup UAW-GM Quality 500 over Jeff Gordon at the Lowe's Motor Speedway, Concord, NC.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.