Walt Hansgen... Born ... A driver from the United States. He participated in 2 Formula One Grands Prix, debuting on October 8, 1961. He scored a total of 2 championship points. Hansgen also raced in the 1964 and 1965 Indianapolis 500 races finishing 13th and 14th. In addition to Formula One, Walt Hansgen was an active road racer from the early 1960's through his death. He participated in several runnings of the 24 hours of Daytona and Le Mans as well as the 12 hours of Sebring endurance races. He was notable for introducing Mark Donohue to professional road racing. He was killed when he crashed a 7-liter Ford Mk2 sports car at the Le Mans tests during the spring of 1966.
Bobby Grim won the IMCA Sprint Car race over Buzz Barton at the Louisiana State Fairgrounds,Shreveport, LA.

A.J. Foyt won the USAC sanctioned Golden State 100 on the 1 Mile Dirt Oval California State Fairgrounds in Sacramento, California. Don Branson was second followed by Elmer George, Jim Hurtubise and Parnelli Jones.
Bob McCoy won the USAC Sprint Car race at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA. Ned Spath was second followed by Hank Henry, Lee Robison and Carl Williams.
Tony Simon won the CRA Sprint Car race at the Ascot Park Speedway (1/2d) , Gardena, CA. Stan McElrath finished second followed by Jimmy Oskie, Jay East and Chuck Gurney.
Billy Shuman won the Sprint Car race at the Manzanita Speedway, Phoenix,AZ. Darrell Dockery finished second followed by Lealand McSpadden, Jerry Miller and Ron Shuman.

Lealand McSpadden won the Sprint Car race at the Manzanita Speedway, Phoenix,AZ. Dub May finished second followed by Larry Clark, Ron Shuman and Jerry Miller.
Steve Smith won the Super Sprint Car race over Bobby Allen, Mack McClellan, Danny Smith and Lee Smith at the Oglethorpe Speedway, Savannah,GA.
Johnny Rutherford won the USAC sanctioned Miller High Life Bobby Ball Memorial 150 on the 1 Mile Paved Oval Phoenix International Raceway in Avondale, AZ. A.J. Foyt was second followed by Gordon Johncock, Danny Ongais and Al Unser.
Jeff Heywood won the USAC Midget race at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA. Danny McKnight was second followed by Rich Vogler, Wally Pankratz and Lonnie Caruthers.
Johnny Anderson won the 30-lap open competition sprint car race at the West Capital Raceway, West Sacramento, CA. Nick Rescino was second followed by Jimmy Sills, Mike Wasina and Rich Forsberg.
Steve Chassey won the Supermodified race at the Salem Speedway,Salem,IN.

Sammy Swindell won the opening nights preliminary race of the 20th annual Valvoline/Coors Western World Sprint Car Championship at the Manzanita Speedway, Phoenix, AZ. ( Click here for the race report. )
Jeff Burton won the NASCAR Winston Cup Checker Auto Parts 500 over Mike Wallace at the Phoenix International Raceway, Phoenix, AZ.
Johnny Coy... Died ... Coy raced everything from jalopies to modifieds, but it was in the midgets where he excelled. He started running midgets in the late '40's at Freeport. He drifted out to Oklahoma where they ran 6 nights a week. Returning to Long Island in the '50's he jumped into the stocks and ran both. He ran NASCAR Grand Nationals at Langhorne in 1957 , beating Buck Baker and the Keikhafer crew in his own "ill prepared" Chrysler 300. Coy passed his drivers test at Indianapolis in 1962, but the car broke during a qualifying run. He continued driving midgets with ARDC and TQ's with ATQMRA until arthritis got the best of his hands in 1984 and helped his two sons ARDC and NEMA Champion Joey Coy and Johnny Coy Jr. Real name John Barbaro.

Jimmie Johnson won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Pep Boys Auto 500 over Carl Edwards at the Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, GA.
Sam Hafertepe Jr won the25-lap opening night preliminary feature at the 23rd COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires Sprint Car race at the I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, AR. Finishing second to Hafertepe in the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National Sprint Car race was Sammy Swindell followed by Greg Wilson, Brady Bacon and Darren Stewart.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.