Dick Rathmann ... Born ... AAA & USAC driver from the 1940's, 50's & 60's
Pat Flaherty ... Born ... He drove in the AAA and USAC Championship Car series, racing in the 1950, 1953-1956, 1958,1959, and 1963 seasons with 19 starts, including the Indianapolis 500 races in 1950, 1953, 1955, 1956, and 1959. He finished in the top ten 9 times, with victories in 1955 and 1956 at Milwaukee as well as the 1956 Indianapolis 500.
Allen Heath won the 40 lap Pacific Coast AAA Sprint Car race at the Carrell Speedway, Gardena, CA. Johnnie Parsons finished second followed by Troy Ruttman.
Gene Hartley wins the 50 lap USAC Indoor Midget race at Allen County Coliseum Expo, Fort Wayne, IN
Steve Cannon won the 75-lap USAC Midget race at the Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne, IN.
Gary Balough won the 50-lap season opener Late Model race at the New Smyrna Speedway, New Smyrna Beach, FL.
Terry Wente won the 75-lap USAC Midget race at the Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne, IN.
Tex Enright ... Died ... Tex was one of the best known starters on the East coast. ( Click here for the story. )
Rich Vogler won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne, IN.

Jim Hurtubise ... Died ... An American race car driver who raced in USAC Champ Cars (including the Indianapolis 500), as well as sprint cars and stock cars (USAC and NASCAR). He was from North Tonawanda, New York. Despite his limited success, he was a fan favorite throughout much of his career as many characterized him as an "old style" racecar driver. Hurtubise raced in the USAC Championship Car series in the 1959-1968 and 1970-1974 seasons, with 97 career starts. He finished in the top ten 38 times, with 4 victories, in 1959 at Sacramento, 1960 at Langhorne, and 1961 and 1962 at Springfield. In 1964, after suffering serious burns in an accident during the Rex Mays Classic, in Milwaukee, doctors asked Hurtubise how he wanted his hands shaped permanently. "Just make 'em so I can hold a steering wheel," he replied. Hurtubise died January 6, 1989 after suffering a heart attack near his home in Port Arthur, Texas. He was 56 years old. ( Click here for the report. )
Russ Gamester won the 100-lap USAC Midget race at the Rosemont Horizon, Chicago, IL.
Sam Schmidt paralyzed after he broke his neck in a crash while testing his IRL car at Walt Disney World Speedway in Orlando, Florida.
Scott Kreutter won the 40-lap Ironton Telephone TQ Midget feature at the PPL Center, Allentown, PA. Erick Rudolph finished second followed by Justin Bonsignore, Matt Roselli and Jon Reid.
Danny Buccafusca won the 20-lap Ironton Telephone Slingshot feature at the PPL Center, Allentown, PA. Anthony Raisner finished second followed by Kyle Herve, Brett Bieber and Dylan Koch.

Tyler Thompson , Ryan Flores and Anthony Sesely were the winners of the Ironton Auto Body Triple Twenties of the Indoor Auto Racing Series Fueled By VP Race Fuels TQ Midget features inside the PPL Center in Allentown, PA.
Brian Smith won the 20-lap Slingshot feature and Mike Perry won the 20-lap Champ Kart Feature.

Ryan Flores won the 40-lap Ironton Global TQ Midget feature at the PPL Center, Allentown, PA. Tommy Catalano finished second followed by Andy Jankowiak, Tanner VanDoren, Trevor Catalano, Matt Janisch, Briggs Danner, Kyle Lick, Anthony Sesely, Anthony Payne, Billy Pauch Jr., Tim Buckwalter, Ryan Bartlett, Ryan Smith and Joey Bailey. Scott Neary won the 20-lap Slingshot feature and Todd Crenshaw won the 20-lap Champ Kart feature.
Brad Sweet won the 30-lap Maddington Toyota Summer Slam Sprint Car feature at the Bunbury Speedway in Western Australia. Trent Pigdon was second followed by Brock Zeafoss, Jamie Maiolo, Dayne Kingshott, Rico Abreu, James Inglis, Callum Williamson, Taylor Milling and Brad Maiolo.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.