Bob Cooney ... Born ... AAA driver 1946-1949
Bob Swanson won the Turkey Night Grand Prix 75 AAA Midget race at the Gilmore Stadium,Hollywood, CA.
Lee Kunzman ... Born ... A former driver in the USAC Sprint , USAC and CART Championship Car series. He raced in the Champ Series in 1969, 1972-1973 and 1975-1980 seasons, with 48 combined career starts, including the 1971-1972, 1977, and 1979 Indianapolis 500. He finished in the top ten 21 times, with his best finish in 2nd position in 1979 at Atlanta. Early in his career, he was 1967 IMCA sprint car Rookie of the Year. Injuries limited his driving in 1970-71 and 1973-74. After completing his driving career, he became the general manager for Hemelgarn Racing. Kunzman was inducted in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 2006.
Parnelli Jones won the 30-lap CRA Sprint Car race at the Ascot Stadium , Los Angeles, CA. ( Click here for the race report. )
Fred Lorenzen won the USAC Late Model race at the Las Vegas Park Speedway , Las Vegas, NV. ( Click here for the race report. )

Jimmy Oskie won the CRA Sprint Car race over Gary Ponzini, Jan Opperman, Billy Wilkerson and Chuck Allen at the Ascot Park Speedway, Gardena,CA.
Graham Hill... Died ... British racing driver and two-time Formula One World Champion. Graham Hill is the only driver to win the so-called Triple Crown of Motorsport, which is alternatively defined as winning either: the Indianapolis 500 (won by Hill in 1966), the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1972) and the Monaco Grand Prix (1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969) or the Indianapolis 500, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Formula One World Championship (1962, 1968). Using either definition, Hill is still the only person ever to have accomplished this feat. Graham was killed when his Piper Aztec aeroplane (which he was piloting at the time) crashed in foggy conditions over Arkley Golf Course in North London.
Jim Hendrickson won the "Second Annual Turkey Derby" 150-lap Modified Stock Car race at the Wall Stadium, Wall Township, NJ. Freddy Harbach was second followed by Charlie Kremer Jr., Dick Dunn, Sonny Rostien, Dick Fowler, Jerry Cranmer, Sonny McCurdy, Parker Bohn and Tom Seldwin.
Ron Shuman won the Sprint Car race at the Manzanita Speedway, Phoenix,AZ. Billy Shuman finished second followed by Jeff Swindell, Larry Clark and Darrell Dockery.
John Blewett Jr won the Modified race, Randy LaJoie won the Sportsman race, Dave Thompson won the TQ Midget race and Bill Cameron won the Modern Stock race in the seventh annual Turkey Derby at the Wall Stadium, Wall Township, NJ. Following Blewett across the line in the 150-lap Modified feature was Richie Evans, Charlie Jarzombek, Jamie Tomaino, Tom Baldwin, Alan Harbach, Fred Harbach, Charlie Kremer, Wayne Anderson and Doug French.

Robby Flock won the USAC Western Midget race over Sleepy Tripp, Wally Pankratz, Rusty Rasmussen and Mario Bringetto at the Imperial Valley Speedway, El Centro,CA.
Mickey Gibbs won the All Pro Stock Car race at the Mobile International Speedway, Mobile, AL. ( Click here for the race report. )
Dave Darland won the USAC Midget race over Jason Leffler, Kevin Thomas, Tracy Hines and Jerry Coons Jr at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway (1/2d),Las Vegas, NV.

Tim Kaeding won the Sprint Car race at the Thunderbowl Raceway ,Tulare,CA. Craig Stidham finished second followed by Danny Lasoski, Peter Murphy and Joey Saldana.


To report wrong information, click here to send E-Mail to

Back to the Wheels of Speed home page
This site created and maintained by John & Mike Calla (Webmasters and best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution.