Thunder on the Hill














OCTOBER 15, 2016
CONTACT: BOB MILLER 443 513 4456


BECHTELSVILLE, PA (October 15, 2016) – With a full moon looming over the Grandview Speedway, it was Frenchtown, NJ’s Billy Pauch Jr. battling back from a mechanical issue early in the evening to claim a hard fought win in a wild and exciting Mods at the Madhouse main event. Pauch topped a field of forty-two modifieds, taking home the $5,000 prize during Saturday night’s NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series event presented by Pioneer Pole Buildings. This festive Halloween event delivered a spooky scenario with Pauch Jr, Ryan Watt and Craig VonDohren finishing first, second and third, all carrying the car number 14.

“We got off to a rough start this evening breaking the driveshaft in warm ups,” an elated Pauch Jr. explained. “Winning here is really special and I’m glad we could grab one for the Breitenstein team.”

Orefield, PA’s Brett Kressley – aboard the Norm’s Save Station No. 357 machine – set the pace early on and held the lead through some early race cautions, battling with second place starter, John Willman.

Pauch Jr., aboard the Rod Breitenstein-owned No. 14 machine, charged around the outside of Kressley at the conclusion of the third circuit, as Boyertown, PA’s Ryan Watt moved into the third position and claimed second just a few laps later.

The caution flew for the fourth time on the ninth lap, as a mechanical issue ended the night for Kressley – who was holding on to the third position.

Watt slid inside Pauch Jr. on the restart, as Willman battled ten-time Grandview Speedway Champion, Jeff Strunk for the third position.

The pair of No. 14 machines of Watt and Pauch Jr. diced around lapped traffic as competitors got the halfway signal, with ‘The Kid’s Kid’ taking the lead for the second time on lap 23.

A lap 30 yellow retired the machines of Hellertown, PA’s Rick Laubach and Frenchtown, NJ’s Billy Pauch – both with left-side flat tires while running in fifth and sixth respectively.

Watt shot like a rocket on the restart taking the lead from Pauch Jr., only for Pauch Jr. to battle back to the top spot one lap later. Pauch Jr. set his sights on the $5,000 top prize holding off Watt and claiming his second NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series victory.

Ryan Watt settled for the second position, electrifying the crowd with some daring moves. Craig VonDohren of Oley, PA finished in the third position, Mike Gular came home in fourth, Jeff Strunk in fifth.

Ryan Godown, of Ringoes, NJ, charged from the 22nd starting position to finish sixth, Kyle Weiss in seventh, John Willman in eighth, Doug Manmiller in ninth and John McClleland battling back from an early race caution to finish tenth.

Brad Arnold of Sinking Spring, PA picked up the $1,300 top prize in the 25-lap Sportsman main event, dominating the event from the first-place starting position. Arnold’s second Grandview Speedway win of the season was no easy task as he held off previous Thunder winner Paul Kline and Freedom 76 prelude winner Brandon Grosso – who finished in second and third position. 2016 Grandview Track Champion Jordan Henn finished in the fourth position and Jim Houseworth rounded out the top five finishers.

Ringoes, NJ’s Tommy Carberry claimed his first TSRS Sprint Car career victory dominating A-Main. The 29-year-old racer led the field to the green flag and led all of the 20 laps, holding off five-time TSRS Champion Mike Haggenbottom after a lap 19 caution flag. Haggenbottom finished in the second position, Dave Brown finished in third, Tim Tanner Jr. finished in fourth and Chris Allen came home in the third position.

The second running of the Mods at the Madhouse event marked event number 124 of the 27 year history of NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series.


Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Ray Swinehart 2. Mike Gular 3. Brett Kressley 4. Steve Young 5. John McClelland

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Rick Laubach 2. Billy Pauch 3. Brian Houseknecht 4. Kyle Weiss 5. Dan Bouc

Heat 3 (10 Laps) – 1. Craig VonDohren 2. Jeff Strunk 3. Jim Britt 4. Kevin Hirthler 5. Steve Davis

Heat 4 (10 Laps) – 1. Billy Pauch Jr. 2. John Willman 3. Ryan Watt 4. Doug Manmiller 5. Jared Umbenhauer

Consolation 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Chris Esposito 2. Colt Harris

Consolation 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Ryan Godown 2. Brian Hirthler

Feature (40 Laps) – 1. Billy Pauch Jr. 2. Ryan Watt 3. Craig VonDohren 4. Mike Gular 5. Jeff Strunk 6. Ryan Godown 7. Kyle Weiss 8. John Willman 9. Doug Manmiller 10. John McClleland 11. Rick Laubach 12. Ray Swinehart 13. Kevin Hirthler 14. Brian Houseknecht 15. Jim Britt 16. Steve Young 17. Billy Pauch 18. Brian Hirthler 19. Chris Esposito 20. Danny Bouc 21. Steve Davis 22. Colt Harris 23. Brett Kressley 24. Jared Umbenhauer

DNQ: Ryan Krachun, Duane Howard, Kory Fleming, Danny Erb, Dan Waisenpacher, Ryan Kunkle, Ryan Lilick, David Hunt, Nate Christman, Doug Pannepacker, Don Hoffman, Dan Hineline, Kevin Beech, Eric Engstrom, Justin Grim, Anthony Moran, Willie Osmun,


Heat 1 (8 Laps) – 1. Brandon Grosso 2. Dylan Swinehart 3. Ryan Shupp 4. Joe Funk 5. Chad Kohler 6. John McGovern

Heat 2 (8 Laps) – 1. Brad Arnold 2. Jim Houseworth 3. Mike Lisowski 4. Paul Kline 5. Roger Manning

Heat 3 (8 Laps) – 1. Jordan Henn 2. Brett Gilmore 3. Craig Whitmoyer 4. Brian Hirthler 5. Paul Houseknecht

Consolation (8 Laps) – 1. Mike Lisowski 2. Ryan Lilick 3. Brandon Whitmoyer 4. Derrick Smith 5. Ray Woodall, Sr. 6. Jeremy Guiswite

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Brad Arnold 2. Paul Kline 3. Brandon Grosso 4. Jordan Henn 5. Jim Houseworth 6. Brian Hirthler 7. Craig Whitmoyer 8. Paul Houseknecht 9. Chad Kohler 10. Brandon Whitmoyer 11. Ryan Schupp 12. John McGovern 13 Jordon Cox 14. Jeremy Guiswite 15. Kenny Bock 16. Brett Gilmore 17. Mike Lisowski 18. Ryan Lilick 19. Joe Funk 20. Brian Papiez 21. Ray Woodall, Sr. 22. Roger Manning 23. Dylan Swinehart 24. Derrick Smith

DNQ: Mike Koffel, Jason Kosch, Scott Kohler, BJ Joly, Todd Hoffman, Cale Ross, Nathan Mohr

TSRS Sprint Cars

Heat 1 (6 Laps) – 1. Bryant Davis 2. Dave Bonner 3. Ryan Stillwaggon 4. Mike Haggenbottom 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. Keith Anderson

Heat 2 (6 Laps) – 1. Tommy Carberry 2. Samantha Lieberman 3. Chris Allen 4. Dave Brown 5. Scott Frack

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Tommy Carberry 2. Mike Haggenbottom 3. Dave Brown 4. Tim Tanner, Jr. 5. Christopher Allen 6. Bryant Davis 7. Samantha Leiberman 8. Keith Anderson 9. Dave Bonner 10. Scott Frack 11. Ryan Stillwaggon

Leave a Comment