Wall Stadium

DATE OF EVENT: Sept. 12, 2020

DATE OF RELEASE: Sept. 12, 2020

CONTACT: Jeff Gravatt


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Third generation stock car driver Neil Rutt III of Edison raced through the pack to win the 25-lap Sportsman stock can feature race Saturday night at Wall Stadium Speedway. It was the first win of the 2020 season for last season's 4 Cylinder Stock Driving Champion.

After a third turn scramble on the initial start, Rob Anderton of Howell jumped to the early lead over former champ Kevin Eyres of Colts Neck and Rutt. A handful of cautions for minor incidents slowed the early going before Eyres took the lead near lap ten as Rutt followed him through for second. Rutt then shadowed Eyres until the 14th lap when Eyres drifted high in turn two and Rutt dove low to take the lead. Carsten DiGiantomasso of Jackson then took over second and haunted Rutt to the finish line. Eyres held on for third, with Jake Nelke of Manahawkin and Jackson's Jarret DiGiantomasso fourth and fifth.

“We have had a couple of tough races this season, but when you see how hard your car owner and crew members work you just keep digging,” Rutt said in the winner's circle. “You just never give up!”

Rutt also expressed get well wishes to fellow competitor Micheal Rising, who was injured in a non-racing accident in July.

Bryan O'Shea of Neptune City won his fourth main event of the year in the companion 25-lapper for the Factory Stock cars. Robert Stack of Manahawkin held his ground early in the test except for a few laps when Howell's Johnny Carpenter took the lead before Stack regained command.

O'Shea then took the lead near lap 20 and raced on to the win over the challenges of Mike Montano of Freeport, N.Y.. Billy Both of Rahway, Tom Rajkowski of Fords and Brick's Kevin Flores completed the top five.

Sal Liguori of Hazlet tracked down early leader and eventual runner-up Ian Ashford of Farmingdale to win the 4 Cylinder Stocks 25-lap feature race. Sean Vuksanic of Wall, Farmingdale's Doug Ashford and Ryan Maher of Neptune City were third through fifth.

Peter Bruno of Little Silver raced to his second straight win in the 25-lapper for the Legend Cars over early leader Mike Fulton of Raritan. Brick's Bryan Gardella, Eric Green of Red Bank and Joe Przybylinski of Fairfield wrapped up the top five.

Former champion Mike Tillett of Bayville grabbed the lead on lap four and drove home with his first win of the year in the Limited Late Model 25-lapper. Asbury Park's Buddy Miller, defending champ Chris Silvestri of Hazlet, Ricky Giannino of Patchogue, N.Y. and Stephen Puglisi of Toms River completed the top five.

The 2020 Saturday night regular season continues this Saturday (Sept. 19) evening with the annual running of the 127-lap “Cliff Krause Memorial” race for the Modified stock cars. Factory Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks and Legend Cars will also be on the card which honors the memory of the promoter who many credit with saving the 70 year old speedway. The pit area will open at 1:00 p.m. Grandstands will open at 4:30 p.m., qualifying starts at 5:30 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:00 p.m.

Current plans call for Saturday night racing action to continue through October 10 with updated schedule details always available at

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is


SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. NEIL RUTT III, EDISON, 2. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 3. Kevin Eyres, 4. Jake Nelke, 5. Jarret DiGiantomasso, 6. Tomas Stainionis, 7. Eric Lane, 8. Rob Anderton, 9. Jeffrey Loesch, 10. Ryan Fisher, 11. Dave Bailey, 12. Roland DeMartino, 13. Jimmy Wolcott, DQ. Teddy Cranmer

FACTORY STOCK – 25 Laps – 1. BRYAN O'SHEA, NEPTUNE CITY, 2. Mike Montano, 3. Billy Both, 4. Tom Rajkowski, 5. Kevin Flores, 6. John Bowers, 7. Brian DeSarno, 8. Scott Riggleman, 9. Brian Osborn, 10. Theresa Collins, 11. Elliot Wohl, 12. Matt Badessa, 13. Nick Kilmer, 14. Tony Bartone, 15. Matt Badessa, 16. Nancy Riggleman, 17. Steve Mangano, 18. Robert Stack, 19. John Carpenter, 20. Nick Catone, 21. Tim Majek, 22. Steve Adams, 23. Terry Cain

4 CYLINDER STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. SAL LIGUORI, HAZLET, 2. Ian Ashford, 3. Sean Vuksanic, 4. Doug Ashford, 5. Ryan Maher, 6. Alonzo Morales, 7. William Cross, 8. TJ Graves, 9. Nicole Razzano, 10. Deanna McLaren, 11. Max Montijo, 12. Bill Schwartz, 13. Rob Lane, 14. Kayleigh Sharry, 15. Darianne McLaren, 16. Cody Critelli

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. PETER BRUNO, LITTLE SILVER, 2. Mike Fulton, 3. Bryan Gardella, 4. Eric Green, 5. Joe Przybylinski, 6. Steve Woytysiak, 7. Phil Bogdon, 8. Eddie Idec, 9. Roger Nickerson, 10. Quinn Trimmer, 11. Leanne Sharry

LIMITED LATE MODEL – 25 Laps – 1. MIKE TILLETT, BAYVILLE, 2. Buddy Miller, 3. Chris Silvestri, 4. Ricky Giannino, 5. Steve Puglisi, 6. Greg Gastelu, 7. Andy Gamble

Leave a Comment