Fulper Flies To First New Egypt Victory; Housworth Hustles To Romano Memorial

New Egypt Speedway





New Egypt Speedway
Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Pete MacDonald email:

Fulper Flies To First New Egypt Victory; Housworth Hustles To Romano Memorial

NEW EGYPT, NJ - Milford, NJ’s JR Fulper picked up his first career New Egypt Speedway Modified victory on Saturday night as he held off Frank Cozze and a hard charging David VanHorn in the 30-lap main event.

“I’m so happy, when I was going to work this morning something told me that we would be here tonight. I can’t believe it. We were able to put everything together,” said Fulper post race.

Kory Fleming led the Vahlco Wheels Modified feature to the green flag and would lead the first five laps of the event before giving way to JR Fulper.

With Fulper out in front the man on the move in the early stages was Dakota Kessler racing up to second from his seventh place starting spot by lap eight.

The first yellow of the event flew on lap 11 when Eric Engstrom broke and veered into traffic, clipping Kessler severely damaging the right rear corner of his No. 449 and ending his promising night.

Fulper maintained the lead on the restart which saw Frank Cozze charge up to third from the sixth position.

The second and final caution of the event occurred on lap 12 when Ryan Krachun debuting a new Bicknell machine had trouble on the backstretch ending his event.

Fulper again shot out to the lead on the restart and this time brought Frank Cozze with him who had finally cleared Cale Ross for the runner-up position. David VanHorn entered the fray at the lap 17 mark as he was now on the charge up from his 13th starting position. At the five to go signal VanHorn had caught Cozze for second, finally getting past the No. 401 with two laps remaining.

While all of this was going on JR Fulper pulled out to over a second lead. Unfortunately for VanHorn’s sake he would run out of time as Fulper held him off for his first career Modified win.

VanHorn crossed the stripe in second with Frank Cozze third, 15th starting Billy Pauch Jr. in fourth and Davey Sammons fifth.

“We did a good job getting through lapped traffic, everything went good. We work so hard, we’re a small family team. I can’t believe we beat those guys,” said an elated Fulper in victory lane.

The Sportsman had their night in the spotlight on Saturday with the John Romano Memorial 30 lapper.

Marty Resnick used his pole position starting spot to jump out to the early lead but the caution would fly on the first lap when Matt Ellery and Joseph Brown tangled causing a pile up that also included John Scarpati and Bill Liedtka.

When green replaced yellow, Resnick continued to set the pace with John Criscione all over the back bumper of the No. 13. The second caution of the race flew when points leader David Burns spun in turns one and two.

Resnick held his ground out front before Criscione finally got the best of him on lap seven.

The caution flag came unfurled again on lap 17 for Joseph Brown who again was pointed backwards in turns three and four, this time after contact with Aaron Weaver.

Criscone would be back out front on the restart but it would be Jim Housworth leading lap 18 as he cleared Criscione for position.

The final yellow of the event flew when Jimmy Amato was found backwards in turns one and two.

Housworth continued to lead on the restart and went on to score the John Romano Memorial victory. Bob Lineman Jr. charged from his 10th place starting position to come home second with Criscione third, Burns rebounded from his spin to finish fourth and 2019 John Romano Memorial winner Will Dupree rounded out the top five.

Sammy Martz Jr. rocketed to the front of the Ice Less LLC Crate Modified main event from his 15th starting position for good on lap 15 as he took the lead from Robbie Holzwarth to pick up his second of the season at NES. Jim Housworth ran second followed by Dan Fleming, Anthony Tramontana Jr. and Vinny Troia.

Shannon Mongeau won his second Street Stock feature event of the season as he was chased by Bill Liedtka, point leader Brian Ludwig, Larry Reed and Joe Reid.

Amanda Buchel was the winner in the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman.

New Egypt Speedway will crown its 2020 Vahlco Wheels Modified champion this coming Saturday, September 12th on First Responders Night. Unofficially Danny Bouc leads Mike Butler by 18 points heading into Saturday’s point finale.

Also in competition on Saturday night will be the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars Presented By: The Meat Shoppe, Ice Less LLC Crate Modifieds, 4-Cylinders and the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman.

Pit Gates will open at 3pm, Grandstands at 4pm, with hot laps hitting the speedway at 5pm and the first green flag flying at 6pm. Adult (16+) admission will be $20, Seniors (65+) will be $18, Teens (12-15) & Military w/ID are $10 with Kids 11 & Under being FREE!.

New Egypt Speedway, which is New Jersey’s premier dirt racing facility, is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at,
or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.

Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS Feature (30 laps): 1. JR Fulper 2. David Van Horn 3. Frank Cozze 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Davey Sammons 6. Cale Ross 7. Kory Fleming 8. Mike Butler 9. Danny Bouc 10. Brandon Grosso 11. Wade Hendrickson 12. Steve Davis 13. John McClelland 14. Blaine Bracelin 15. Jimmy Blewett 16. PJ Oliver 17. Danny Carlough 18. Mickey Kessler 19. Bruce Gsell 20. Dominick Buffalino 21. Ryan Krachun 22. Lee Taylor Jr. 23. Dakota Kessler 24. Eric Engstrom 25. Bryan Kuhl 26. Frank Venezia

Heat Winners: Cale Ross, Billy Pauch Jr., JR Fulper

Ice Less LLC CRATE MODIFIEDS Feature (20 laps): 1. Sammy Martz Jr. 2. Jim Housworth 3. Dan Fleming 4. Anthony Tramontana 5. Vinny Troia 6. Jeremy Martino 7. Ryan Krushinski 8. Ryan Simmons 9. Justin Grosso 10. Johnny Bangs 11. Mason Magee 12. Nick Van Wickle 13. Ryan Heim 14. DJ Hunt 15. Paul Mancini 16. Jimmy Dallett 17. Robbie Dunn 18. Jon Meyer 19. Tom Princiotta 20. Glenn McIntyre 21. Eric Palmer 22. Bobby Holzwarth 23. Howie Finch 24. Aaron Weaver

Heat Winners: Glenn McIntyre, Bobby Holzwarth, Johnny Bangs

B Main Winner: Ryan Heim

DNQ: Matt Knaub, Matt Miller, Kevin Borden, Zach Merola, Frank Frasco

SPORTSMAN John Romano Jr. Memorial Feature (20 laps): 1. Jim Housworth 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. John Criscione 4. David Burns 5. Will Dupree 6. Howie Finch 7. Marty Resnick 8. Joseph Brown 9. Ryan Heim 10. Amanda Buchel 11. Joe Nappi 12. Matt Ellery 13. Jimmy Amato 14. Darren Cox 15. Jarrod Burdge 16. Erik Renninger 17. Aaron Weaver 18. Bill Liedtka 19. Will Protinick 20. Nick Trapasso 21. John Scarpati DNS: Jimmy Avery

Heat Winners: Marty Resnick, John Criscione

STREET STOCKS Feature (15 laps): 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Larry Reed 5. Joe Reid 6. Sean Wall 7. Spider Ensinger Sr. 8. Dom Antonelli 9. Drew Brocklebank

Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie Sportsman Feature (8 laps): 1. Amanda Buchel 2. Paul Mancini 3. Mason Magee 4. Nick Stephan 5. Will Protinick 6. Sara Napora

Leave a Comment