Wall Stadium

DATE OF EVENT: Sept. 7, 2019

DATE OF RELEASE: Sept. 7, 2019

CONTACT: Jeff Gravatt


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Tyler Truex turned a disappointing season into a rewarding one Saturday night by winning the 40-lap main event for the All American Auto Group Modified stocks cars at Wall Stadium Speedway. The victory was the first of the campaign for the Mayetta resident.

Eddie McCarthy of Pt. Pleasant was impressive early in this race as he led Derek Hopkinson of Toms River through the first ten laps. The duo then touched at this point with McCarthy spinning from the lead. Hopkinson was then the leader of the test but Truex had now completed his run from sixth to second and applied the pressure. On the 16th lap Truex powered to the outside lane to take the lead.

The final half of the event saw Truex fight off the advances of Holmdel's Andrew Krause and Hopkinson who eventually finished second and third. The returning Ron Frees of Lanoka Harbor and Howell's Kevin Davison were fourth and fifth.

“This win is for my father,” Truex said in the winner's circle. “He is fighting health issues and I am so glad he is here tonight. He is the reason that I am a Modified driver today. Andrew Krause may have had the better car late in the race but he drove me clean all the way.”

The Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks battled in twin 25-lap main events with Neptune City's Jeffrey Loesch winning the first after taking the lead on lap eight. Howell's Brian Osborn, Ryan Maher of Neptune, Edison's Neil Rutt III and Alonzo Morales of Mt. Ephraim completed the top five. Championship point leader Rutt returned to win the nightcap over a top five of Morales, Maher, Loesch and Ian Ashford of Farmingdale.

Michael Rising of Little Egg harbor fought off the advances of Howell's Eric Lane for most of the first half of the 25-lapper for the Center State Engineering Sportsman cars before the duo touched and Rising went spinning from the lead. Lane then took command and raced on to the win over Farmingdale's Tommy Martino. Rutt, Jackson's Jarret DiGiantomasso and the recovering Rising wrapped up the top five.

Sean Verwys of East Stroudsburg, Pa. got his first win in the 25-lapper for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars fighting off Mason Magee most of the way. Invader Ron Milroy, Peter Bruno of Little silver and Joe McGrath of Brick were third through fifth.

Auto racing continues at Wall Stadium Speedway this Saturday (Sept. 14) night with the All American Auto Group Modified stock cars, the Center State Engineering Sportsman cars, the O'Shea's Auto Repair Factory Stocks and the Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks all on tap. Grandstand gates open at 5:00 p.m., qualifying begins at 5:45 p.m. and features start at 7:00 p.m.

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is

MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. TYLER TRUEX, MAYETTA, 2. Andrew Krause, 3. Derek Hopkinson, 4. Ron Frees, 5. Kevin Davison, 6. Chris Andretta, 7. Jason Treat, 8. Steven Reed, 9. Eddie McCarthy, 10. Kenny Van Wickle, 11. Tom Catanzaro, 12. Robert French, 13. Joey Merlino, 14. Ed Delage, 15. Mike Brennan, 16. Kenny Green, 17. Ken Matlach

1ST 4 CYLINDER FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. JEFFREY LOESCH, NEPTUNE CITY, 2. Brian Osborn, 3. Ryan Maher, 4. Neil Rutt III, 5. Alonzo Morales, 6. Jennifer Schultz, 7. Brian Barbalacci, 8. Nicole Razzano, 9. Deanna McLaren, 10. Bill Schwarz, 11. Ian Ashford, 12. Doug Ashford, 13. Cody Critelli

2ND 4 CYLINDER FEATURE – 25 Laps – NEIL RUTT III, EDISON, 2. Morales, 3. Maher, 4. Loesch, 5. Ian Ashford, 6. Barbalacci, 7. Critelli, 8. McLaren, 9. Razzano, 10. Schultz, 11. Schwarz, 12. Osborn, 13. Doug Ashford

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. ERIC LANE, HOWELL, 2. Tommy Martino, 3. Neil Rutt III, 4. Jarret DiGiantomasso, 5. Michael Rising, 6. Jake Nelke, 7. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 8. Kenny Reaves, 9. Tomas Stainionis, 10. Kyle Scisco

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. SEAN VERWYS, EAST STROUDSBURG, PA., 2. Mason Magee, 3. Ron Milroy, 4. Peter Bruno, 5. Joe McGrath, 6. Rob silver, 7. Colin Milroy, 8. Joe Przybylinski, 9. Quinn Trimmer, 10. Kevin Pritchard, 11. Roger Nickerson, 12. Chris Gall

Leave a Comment