Wall Stadium

DATE OF EVENT: Sept. 14, 2019

DATE OF RELEASE: Sept. 14, 2019

CONTACT: Jeff Gravatt


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Two-time All American Auto Group Modified stock car champion Steven Reed raced to his fourth main event win of the season Saturday night at Wall Stadium Speedway. The Jackson resident and current point leader was emotional in the winner's circle after the event.

A pair of drivers, Joey Merlino of Pine Hill and Kevin Davison of Howell, fought for their first main event wins in the test as Reed worked his way to the front of the pack. A lap 18 restart saw Davison power to the front past Merlino in the outside lane before another caution slowed the action. Davison again worked the outside lane on the ensuing restart before both Merlino and Davison tangled in turn two. Reed then raced into the lead after his climb to the head of the field.

Reed then survived a few more cautions before stretching his advantage to the checker flag. Andrew Krause of Holmdel and Eddie McCarthy of Pt. Pleasant were second and third while Brick's Eric Mauriello and Neptune's Chris Andretta wrapped up the top five.

“This win is for the fans,” an emotional Reed said after the win. “Every week a lot of people come up to me in the stands and that really means a lot. Some come up and wish me luck like I'm a man going off to war. Their encouragement helps. Even the haters help us by encouraging us to go faster!

“I also have to thank my family and backers for all they do to make this car fast. It is so much fun to drive because it is so good. My spotter kept telling to to take it easy and save the tires in case there was another restart. It is hard to slow down when the car is so good!”

Point leader Elliot Wohl of Beachwood took a step toward his first O'Shea's Auto Repair Factory Stock title by wining his fifth 25-lap main event of the year. Former champ Scott Riggleman of Manchester led much of the first half of the race before settling for second, while Tom Rajkowski of Fords, Wall's Bryan O'Shea and Joey Helberg of Union wrapped up the top five.

Former champion Brian Osborn of Howell raced into the lead on lap five and drove on to his second victory of the year in the 25-lapper for the Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks. Alonzo Morales of Mt. Ephraim and point leader Neil Rutt III of Edison were second and third while Sal Liguori of Hazlet and Jeffrey Loesch of Neptune City were fourth and fifth.

Eric Mauriello jumped into the Alan Camp No. x3 for the Center State Engineering Sportsman 25-lapper and crossed the finish line first, but when that team suffered a tire bank infraction Jonathan Laureigh of Lanoka Harbor was awarded the feature race win. Farmingdale's Tommy Martino, point leader Carsten DiGiantomasso, Jake Nelke of Manahawkin and Roland DeMartino of Beachwood were second through fifth.

Auto racing continues at Wall Stadium Speedway this Saturday (Sept. 21) night with the Factory Stocks battling in two 25-lappers and the Sportsman cars and Mike's Performance Center Limited Late Models each racing in a 25-lapper. The visiting Three Quarter Midgets will race in a 25-lap event on the inner oval and Demolition Derby action will also be presented. Grandstand gates open at 5:00 p.m., qualifying begins at 5:45 p.m. and features start at 7:00 p.m. This “Pack the Track” night event offers a discounted admission of just $10 for adults and $5 of children aged 6 to 16. Kids five and under and parking is always free.

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is

MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. STEVEN REED, JACKSON, 2. Andrew Krause, 3. Eddie McCarthy, 4. Eric Mauriello, 5. Chris Andretta, 6. Jonathan Mandato, 7. Kevin Davison, 8. Kenny Van Wickle, 9. Tyler Truex, 10. Robert French, 11. Michael Carr, 12. Shaun Carrig, 13. Jason Treat, 14. Joey Jarowicz, 15. Derek Hopkinson, 16. Joey Merlino, 17. Dom Fattaruso, 18. Ron Frees, 19. Tom Catanzaro, 20. ed Delage, 21. Ricky Collins

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. ELLIOT WOHL, BEACHWOOD, 2. Scott Riggleman, 3. Tom Rajkowski, 4. Bryan O'Shea, 5. Joey Helberg, 6. Tim Majek, 7. Nick Killmer, 8. Matt Badessa, 9. Robert Ptaszynski, 10. Kevin Flores, 11. Robert Stack, 12. billy Both, 13. John Bowers, 14. Waylon Speer, 15. Joe Mongeau, DQ Matt Malachatka

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BRIAN OSBORN, HOWELL, 2. Alonzo Morales, 3. Neil Rutt III, 4. Ricky Williams, 5. Jeff Loesch, 6. Mike Lavery, 7. Nicole Razzano, 8. Doug Ashford, 9. Ian Ashford, 10. Darianne McLaren, 11. Brian Barbalacci, 12. Cody Critelli, 13. Jennifer Schultz, 14. Deanna McLaren, 15. Bill Schwarz, 16. Ryan Maher

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. Jonathan Laureigh, Lanoka Harbor, 2. Tommy Martino, 3. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 4. Jake Nelke, 5. Roland DeMartino, 6. Kyle Scisco, 7. Neil Rutt III, 8. Tomas Stainionis, 9. Michael Rising, DQ Eric Mauriello, DQ Jarret DiGiantomasso

Leave a Comment