Wall Stadium

DATE OF EVENT: Sept. 26, 2020

DATE OF RELEASE: Sept. 26, 2020

CONTACT: Jeff Gravatt


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Third generation race car driver Jack Ely won his first ever Wall Stadium Speedway Modified stock car race Saturday night in just his second appearance behind the wheel of the famous Dick Barney Big Red No. 14. The Wall resident, who is filling in for team driver Blake Barney who is recovering from an illness, completed the non-stop event in just 8 minutes, 43.544 seconds.

Ely, who took advantage of a front row starting spot after setting fast time in qualifying, wrestled for the top spot with Matawan's Anthony Sesely in the early going before taking command of the race. That left Sesely to fight for second with Toms River's Derek Hopkinson, former champion Steven Reed of Jackson and point leader Andrew Krause of Holmdel.

As Ely distanced himself from the pack, his most challenging moment came near lap 25 when lapped cars blocked his path. Ely was able to negotiate through the traffic and race on to the win. Hopkinson, Sesely, Reed and Krause wrapped up the top five.

“It is an honor to be able to fill in for Blake and drive the red No. 14,” Ely said in the winner's circle. “This car right here is the best car I've ever raced. Both my father and grandfather raced here so it is an honor to be the first member of my family to win a Modified race here. My step-grandfather, who supported my racing every lap, passed away over the winter so I want to dedicate this win to his memory.

“It is also an honor to add my name to the list of famous drivers who have won in a Dick Barney No. 14!”

Howell's John Carpenter took the lead early in the companion 25-lapper for the Factory Stocks and raced on to his first win of the campaign. He fought off eventual runner-up Elliot Wohl of Beachwood and former champion Mike Montano of Freeport, N.Y. Point leader Bryan O'Shea of Neptune City and Scott Riggleman of Manchester were fourth and fifth.

TJ Graves of Wall took the lead near the halfway mark and raced on to win the 25-lap feature race for the 4 Cylinder Stocks. Burlington's Alonzo Morales chased Graves to the stripe, with Farmingdale's Doug Ashford, point leader Ryan Maher of Neptune City and Hazlet's Sal Liguori wrapping up the top five.

Carsten DiGiantomasso of Jackson grabbed the top spot near lap 20 and then led Brick's Robert Sutphin across the finish line in the Sportsman 25-lapper. Title contender Jake Nelke of Manahawkin was third, with Jackson's Jarret DiGiantomasso, fourth, and Rob Anderton of Howell, fifth.

Buddy Miller of Asbury Park raced to his first win in the 25-lap event for the Limited Late Models by taking the lead on lap five and never looking back. Long Island's Rick Giannino, point leader Chris Silvestri of Hazlet, Toms River's Steve Puglisi and Bayville's Mike Tillett were second through fifth.

The 2020 Saturday night regular season continues this Saturday (Oct. 3) evening with the Modified stock cars racing in a 40-lap event while the Factory Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks, Sportsman cars, Legend Cars and the Limited Late Models are on the card in 25-lap main events. The pit area will open at 1:00 p.m. Grandstands will open at 4:30 p.m., qualifying starts at 5:30 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:00 p.m.

Current plans call for Saturday night racing action to continue through October 10 with updated schedule details always available at

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is


MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. JACK ELY, WALL, 2. Derek Hopkinson, 3. Anthony Sesely, 4. Steven Reed, 5. Andrew Krause, 6. Kyle Scisco, 7. Tyler Truex, 8. Kenny Van Wickle, 9. Kevin Davison, 10. Jason Treat, 11. Tommy Martino, 12. Dom Fattaruso, 13. Glenn Slocum, 14. Eddie McCarthy, 15. Ron Frees, 16. Joey Merlino, 17. Ricky Collins

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. JOHN CARPENTER, HOWELL, 2. Elliot Wohl, 3. Mike Montano, 4. Bryan O'Shea, 5. Scott Riggleman, 6. John Bowers, 7. Nick Kilmer, 8. Brian Osborn, 9. Kevin Flores, 10. Gerry Koenig, 11. Robert Stack, 12. Mike Baldwin, 13. Nick Catone, 14. Tom Rajkowski, 15. Matt Badessa, 16. Chris Webber, 17. Steve Mangano, 18. Gary Burton, 19. Steve Adams, 20. Billy Both

4 CYLINDER STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. TJ GRAVES, WALL, 2. Alonzo Morales, 3. Doug Ashford, 4. Ryan Maher, 5. Sal Liguori, 6. Billy Pross, 7. Nicole Razzano, 8. Cody Critelli, 9. Sean Vuksanic, 10. Ian Ashford, 11. Darianne McLaren, 12. John Ciaella, 13. Kayleigh Sharry, 14. Deanna McLaren, 15. Kevin Mee, 16. Max Montijo

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps- 1. CARSTEN DIGIANTOMASSO, JACKSON, 2. Robert Sutphin, 3. Jake Nelke, 4. Jarret DiGiantomasso, 5. Rob Anderton, 6. Jimmy Wolcott, 7. Kenny Reaves, 8. Ryan Fisher, 9. Dave Bailey, 10. Jonathan Laureigh, 11. Jeffrey Loesch, 12. Neil Rutt III, 13. Tomas Stainionis, 14. Eric Lane

LIMITED LATE MODEL FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BUDDY MILLER, ASBURY PARK, 2. Rick Giannino, 3. Chris Silvestri, 4. Steve Puglisi, 5. Mike Tillett, 6. Greg Gastelu, 7. Andy Gamble

Leave a Comment